Wrapped with my blouse

I loved this blouse when the September 2010 issue of BurdaStyle arrived in my letterbox, but, as is a common occurrence for me, I’ve taken over a year to make it up.

I blame part of this on getting the issues six months out of season, but it’s really because there are so many styles I like I couldn’t possibly make them all up in a timely manner.

Melissa’s recent silk version reminded me that I really did need to find the time to make this style.

I had some very lovely transparent silk cotton with an abstract design that I thought might look good made up in a draped style, and this pattern looked like the one to try.

Yes, success!

And this is certainly not a BurdaStyle with a plunging neckline. [The skirt is not yet blogged, but is made from lovely fabric from the same shopping spree )

This is a beautiful blouse to wear. Airy on a hot day yet covered up enough in front due to the crossover style and deep self facing and with a modest high neckline. The beautiful hand and look of the fabric helps too!

I prefer it tucked in but it can also be worn out.

This is a very easy pattern to make up. I can see more in my future wardrobe…perhaps some with long sleeves for winter…

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 09-2010-110

Size: 36-42, I made a 42 grading out to 44 to the hips

Fabric: Silk cotton blend

Construction:

I used French seams on the side seams but couldn’t get my head around doing French seams on the shoulders and integrated collar pieces. So the seam allowance from the front on the bias was stitched over the (trimmed smaller) seam allowance from the back (sort of like a self bound seam but with no hand stitching)

I added a small piece of organza to add some stability under the buttonholes and under the buttons. I didn’t use any edge finishes on the organza (apart from pinking) but because it is semi enclosed, and the blouse will be carefully laundered, I think it will be okay.

Changes I might make next time

The buttons at the hips are a bit clunky (even though I used nice thin buttons). Adding ties and turning this into a real wrap blouse could be good. Other clever sewists have already made this change.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wrapped with my blouse

  1. Karin says:

    I really like the fabric you chose for this pattern. I think it looks best tucked-in, but either way is good.

  2. spottedroo says:

    Beautiful! I liked this pattern a lot too when the magazine came out but didn’t have an idea what fabric to make it up in. Your version is so lovely and gives me ideas for making one myself.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    It’s gorgeous. I love everything about your blouse, the pattern, the print. Absolutely beautiful!

  4. I’ve liked every version of this pattern I’ve seen but yours really is special in that fabric. It goes very well with the skirt too.

  5. That’s beautiful! The contrast of the geometric color blocks on the fabric with the flow of the drape of the design makes both look great. It’d look really nice un-tucked and belted, too, if you want an extra variation!

  6. Gail says:

    Love the fabric. I also liked this blouse, traced the pattern but it didn’t fit on the tissue fit and haven’t had time to fiddle with it. Your lovely blouse has spurred me on to try again.

  7. Siebensachen says:

    To me it looks better worn out. The draping needs “freedom” – if you know what I mean. I tried this pattern too, but failed because my fabric was too sturdy. Having seen your lovely blouse I might give it another try.
    Greets from Germany
    Siebensachen

  8. Stephanie says:

    This is a beautiful top and skirt!! Love that silk geometric fabric colour combination, and a great match to the style of the Burda top. WANT!!!

  9. Pingback: Rapt in Cotton…oooh | CherryPix : Things I Pick to Sew

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

