Red and white polka dots

This was supposed to be the dress I wore on Christmas Day.

It got thrown in the corner, in great disappointment and unfinished, just before Christmas Day. I’m remedied the problems now. Jane from Jane’s Sew and Tell inspired me to get back to it after I saw her great Ikea fabric version.

(Hey, see that shiny red car in the background that matches my dress? Its mine.. all mine!)

Technical details

Pattern Burdastyle: 09-2012-108 The September cover dress in lace

Size: 36-44, I made a 42, with some modifications.

Fabric:

A crinkle polyester cotton from Lucy Giles in November, underlined with cotton batiste.

Changes I made:

When made up without alterations, apart from my standard swayback, this was unflatteringly shapeless through the waist with a gaping neck. This is when I gave up and went on with Christmas preparations that involved no sewing.

Inspired again once Christmas dinner was a distant memory, I took the side seams in around the waist, elongated the French darts and removed another 4 cm out of the back neck by curving the centre back seam in. This caused some issues at the top of the zip, because I’d already added a trim to the neck and sewn the zip in as an exposed zip.

I’ve chosen to hide these issues with a red button (and my hair in non sewing blog real life poses).

I also added the red and white trim to the sleeve edgess.

Aren’t those French darts lovely? They  attracted me to this pattern in the first place!

This has now turned into a very comfortable shift dress, perfect for long lunches and overly calorific cakes. See the previous post.

And who doesn’t love a polka dot?

16 thoughts on “Red and white polka dots

  1. I think you did a great save. Sometimes we just need to walk away from things for a time. BTW, I love the length of the dress on you 😉
    Was the car a Christmas present? If so, let us see some better pictures!

  2. Great save! And yes, sometimes things need to languish in the corner. I love the polka dots, and the piping is a very pretty finish on the neckline and armhole openings!

  3. I love a red polka dot. It sucks me in every time. I’m glad you were able to save this dress; it looks cute on you and really is perfect for all this record heat we’ve been having this summer. I may just have to add this dress to my sewing queue. I love those darts and I’ve had mixed success with them in vintage patterns, so I’m interested to see how they go in a Burda draft.

  4. It looks so cool and comfortable and, as you say, who doesn’t love polka dots. I’m happy to know I’m not the only person who thinks “my hair will cover it” when the top of a zip isn’t quite perfect :). I think I may have to dig this issue out – this dress could be a potential for my new cotton fabric.

  5. What a fantastic fabric, and I love the details you added, the trim and exposed zipper. Definitely all worth the extra work to save this one. Don’t you love it even more now? You look great in it.

  6. Gorgeous dress. I love those darts. I used them on a 70s dress I made. They are genius! Good plan to step away and come back later. When I’m stressed I can’t think straight. I normally have my eureka moments in the shower then I can go back to it!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.