Quince

Autumn is a fabulous time for cooking I love the change in season and the cooler weather… it gives me another excuse to stay inside by my stove and cook.

I love the way leaves change colour and the way that quince change from dirty yellow to the glorious deep ruby colour.

I had some egg whites spare so I thought I would try to make some meringues with some quince juice (reduced poaching liquid) swirled through. The meringues looked great before they went in the oven but the sugar in the poaching liquid leaked out during cooking making the swirls less distinct. The flavour of quince went right through the meringue though and the sweet tooth’s in the family loved them.

P4270122

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quince

  1. Nice blog Master Red – be sure to add my obscure martial arts/amputee blog (http://www.gisoku-budo.com/) to your blog roll 🙂

    … and post more, I’d love to pinch a few of your recipes, though I’ll have to get my wife to take care of baking them, as I’m possibly the world’s worst baker 😉

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

