Tea towel skirt

After my last complicated project I needed something easy. Why not make a straight skirt using my TNT (tried ‘n true) pattern (that’s Burda Magazine 07-2008-127)? That should be easy.

Except that the fabric had a large pattern on it, and it was a diagonal pattern. Tricky to match at the seams. He who cooks thought the fabric would make a nice tea towel. It was cotton, but the spandex wouldn’t really have helped with drying dishes..

I played around a bit, trying to match the pattern and then had a brain wave. Why not eliminate all the seams except the back one?

Instead of cutting out two pieces,            I joined the two pieces and cut out one:

Six darts instead of four, not tapered back in at the bottom, and no side seam (but no need for pattern matching either)!

Amazingly, the back seam almost perfectly matched. That fabric must have been designed with my hip size in mind! (excuse the wrinkles, it was after lunch..)

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tea towel skirt

  1. Steph says:

    I have some skirt patterns from the 60’s that do the same thing. Very cool, good work.

  2. Jann says:

    Looks great Liz! Not at all like a tea towel either!

  3. Mary Nanna says:

    I love the whole outfit you’ve put together, very whimsy and fun – and how gratifying to have everything match up! Cute skirt.

  4. Gail D. says:

    So Liz–cute skirt! May we have deets on the top, please?

    Gail D.

    • Liz says:

      The top came from Turin, Italy. I had no intention of buying clothes when I was there, but it was pouring with rain so I sheltered in a doorway, realised it was a tiny little boutique, then thought, why not go in until it stops raining…

      It’s a stretch poplin in a square cut shape with an asymmetric neckline. Then the neckline is smothered in crazy gorgeous pleating, front and back. And if that not enough, the sleeve “cuffs” are twisted.

      I had to have the fabric for the skirt- the pattern mirrored the crazy flowers around the neck of this top.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I love the idea of doing this with skirts, pattern matching is not my strength and I love the colour and print of your fabric, just perfect for the warmer months.

  6. Kristy says:

    that’s brilliant, I’ve never thought of doing that before – instead I’ve just made myself go a little bit more insane by trying to pattern match at seams…. I really like that fabric too – you must have some fancy tea towels if your partner thinks that looks like one!

  7. Pingback: Another straight skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

  8. Pingback: The newsprint maxi skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

  9. Pingback: A very ‘hip’ skirt and ‘Hannah’s’ blouse | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

