Fruit mince tarts

I was having a conversation yesterday and I said “I have just popped some fruit mince pies in the oven…they better be good …with all the ingredients I don’t think I have saved much money”. I have to say these are not much better than good quality bought ones, I guess I used a jar of pre-prepared fruit mince for the filling so what do you expect?

I have done nothing out of the ordinary here… simply followed a recipe from Jonathan at allrecipies and as I said to my good friend… “I am just good at doing what I am told.” I wasn’t even going to blog them because… well mince tarts are mince tarts and my friend was right … they look like mince pies hey… there are millions of them out there…but she was right I did feel good having made my own.

Folklore has it that eating a pie on each of the 12 days of Christmas brings wealth and prosperity for the future 12 months. Whilst I am not certain that I believe that fairy tale, I can tell you that eating one of these each day with a coffee is sure to bring a smile to your face and an extra kilo or two to your Tum!

These were a practice batch to see if I want to make them for Christmas prezzies for ‘She Sews’ staff. I have traditionally made biscuits or puddings or Christmas cake but there seems to be a growing number of special dietary requirements now so might settle for something less home-baked this year.

Ingredients

Almond pastry

200g plain flour

25g ground almonds

100g butter

50g icing sugar

Finely grated rind of 1 lemon

1 egg yolk (large)

60ml (3 tbsp) milk

Filling

300g fruit mince

1 egg, beaten (to brush the tops)

Method

2. You can do this by hand but I used a food processor, put the flour, ground almonds, and sifted icing sugar, grated lemon rind and butter in the processor and whiz to crumbs. The secret (I think) is to just combine the ingredients without melting the butter… I pulse the mix and stop when there are still quite large lumps of butter showing. Turn out into mixing bowl.

3. Combine the egg yolk and milk and mix with a fork. Add to the dry ingredients and using a metal spoon or in mixer with beater, mix until the ingredients are evenly wet. (I needed to add an extra egg yolk) With floured fingers, draw the mixture together to make a rough dough in the bowl.

4. Turn out the pastry onto a lightly floured worktop and knead two or three times so that it is smooth. Allow the pastry to rest before 20 minutes before rolling.

5. Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.

6. Divide the dough into 2 and roll out half the dough thinly on the dusted surface and cut it out into 12 rounds with a fluted cutter to fit a muffin tin or similar.

7. Place a small tablespoon of the fruit mince in the centre of each pie – don’t overfill them or they will leak when cooking.

8. Roll out the remaining dough thinly and cut out 12 tops for the pies. You can cut round tops or cut out shapes such as stars and small Christmas trees a little smaller than the pastry rounds.

9. Brush around the edges of the pies with a little beaten egg and place the tops on. Brush the tops of the pies with a little beaten egg and sprinkle over some caster sugar.

10. Cook the pies in the pre-heated oven for 12-15 minutes until the pastry is crisp and golden. Remove the pies from the oven and allow them to cool for 5 minutes. Remove them from their tins and serve them hot or allow them to cool on a wire rack.

Recipe provided by: Allrecipes http://allrecipes.com.au/recipe/581/fruit-mince-christmas-pies.aspx

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruit mince tarts

  1. Glynis Gaertner says:

    Thank you Chris!!

  2. Jann says:

    They look good Chris. I do some with currants, brandy and raspberries instead of the traditional fruit mince and they are always a big hit!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

