Sewing for Granny

How do you learn which styles suit you and which don’t?

For me it’s always been trial and error, and I have got better at recognizing the obvious losers before I sew them up. I think….most times…. well perhaps only sometimes.

I considered this BurdaStyle 01-2008-108 blouse when the magazine came out two years and thought it was lovely…. for everyone else. The fashion shoot photo was appealing, but it was just not me. I thought the puffy sleeves were a bit much, but I liked the bib front.

It surprised me that my daughter asked me to make it up for her in a gorgeous yellow silk. I decided to try it in another fabric first, just in case it turned out on like I thought it might….

.

She doesn’t like it.

It’s a bit big on her, but she feels the style is a bit old. I agree.

So I won’t adjust the sizing to make it fit her. I’ll try it on Granny first. Seriously, my mother-in-law is a similar size, perhaps narrower across the shoulder and the style will suit her.

So…it’s a win-win, not a wadder*.

  • My daughter is learning what works and what doesn’t, style wise;
  • Granny will get a new blouse made in a delightful batiste with a subtle sparkly coating, and;
  • I enjoyed sewing this lovely fabric with my new-to-me presser foot.

*wadder is a sewist’s term for failure; a pattern that didn’t fit, was unflattering, ugly or didn’t turn out as expected, the garment is useful for padding cushions (used as wadding) but not much else.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing for Granny

  1. Pingback: Second time lucky? | He Cooks… She Sews!

  2. Pingback: Ruffled shoulders | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

