Goats’ cheese, tomato and (don’t forget the) basil tart

When baking, follow directions.  When cooking, go by your own taste.  ~Laiko Bahrs

I think it odd sometimes that I have so many cookbooks and 100’s of food magazines and yet when I cook I almost never follow a recipe exactly. Don’t get me wrong when I bake I make sure I have a recipe and generally follow the ratio’s but often will change flavourings, nothing special here I bet most of you do that… go on put your hand up if you follow recipes to the letter…hmmm thought so…. I think most ingredients lists should just say… check the fridge… use 250gms of whatever is nearing its use by date, combine both of the half empty packets of stuff from the pantry and so on.

I have wanted to make a tart that combines cheese tomato and basil all summer and now that it is almost over I finally got around to it. The recipe that inspired me was a mixture of three cheeses 115gms coarse grated cheddar 85gms Swiss cheese and 30gms of feta with ham & cherry tomatoes on top (see cover story Australian Good-taste March 2011). Now as good as that sounded I made mine with goat’s cheese. I didn’t have any ham so I used prosciutto, my cherry tomatoes were a bit big but we managed. I had basil… (I had it but I didn’t use it…more about that later!) Lovely fresh home-grown basil, it is to me the smell and taste of summer… I love the combination of fresh cheese tomato and basil…




Saturday night the whole family went to a fund-raising activity for Miss F it was a twilight cinema so we had the perfect occasion to make and take a tart like this, pity in the rush of getting things ready the basil was forgotten. Now someone was to blame for that but who? ‘She Sews’ was left to pack the food as I had been ‘voluntered’ by Miss F to help out at the school…. now I am not saying it was her but….sigh guess it gives me an excuse to make another one.


Ingredients (serves 8 )

  • pastry (Shortcrust or puff) 2 sheets just thawed (use Careme if you can)
  • 230g goat’s cheese (Chevre)
  • 2 tbs. sour cream (optional)
  • 3 Slices of Prosciutto or ham or bacon
  • 1 x 240g pkts. cherry truss tomatoes
  • 1 bunch of Basil (don’t forget this!)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 220°C. Line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper.
  2. Cut pastry to fit the base of the tray. Cut remaining pastry into 2cm-wide strips. Place pastry strips on edges of pastry squares to create the sides.
  3. Combine the goat’s cheese & eggs ( add in the sour cream, a bit of feta ) in a bowl
  4. Spoon mixture into the centre of the pastry case. Top with prosciutto and tomatoes and season with pepper
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until set and golden.
  6. When tart has cooled garnish with the basil
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes, Starters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goats’ cheese, tomato and (don’t forget the) basil tart

  1. Glynis Gaertner says:

    This looks so tasty and so easy! I will have to make that one for sure!
    G

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

