Skirt inspired by Jann


Do I need Christian Lomboutin for inspiration? Nahh! Jann is just as inspiring!

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 07-2008-113

Pattern Sizing:
36-44, I made a 36 for Felicity

Fabric Used:
Stretch cotton

Changes I made:
I lengthened the skirt to just under the knee for that retro look by adding 15 cm. I followed the angle of the side seams to keep the pegged look so it’s fairly narrow around the hem.

I added a centre back seam and moved the zip from the side around to the back. I used a zip inherited from my mum (vintage!) and a lapped zip insertion.

I lined the skirt with ivory acetate from the stash. It has a lovely rich hand. I suspect it was leftover lining from one of the wedding dresses I made many years ago either for myself or my sister-in-laws. I used the lining fabric to face the waistband, for the inner pockets and as interfacing in the waistband. I’ve had a few disasters lately with iron-in interfacing…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skirt inspired by Jann

  1. anna23emma says:

    Cool pencil skirt… Like it!

  2. Jann says:

    Well, I can’t say that I don’t like this skirt, can I? Looks gorgeous – young and fun!! What more can I say???

  3. Rosy says:

    Wow! Pencil skirt really fun and inspiring summer. Great!

  4. Shannon says:

    Great skirt! I love the black one with the red zip in the previous post, too!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

