Oh lard won’t you bake me a Cornish pasty

Hello and welcome to our hundredth blog post! Now isn’t that a milestone!

My apologies to Janice Joplin for the title and I couldn’t help slipping in the pun, I thought seeing as I haven’t had a food related blog post here for ages and ages you would forgive me!

Now I hate winter…absolutely can’t stand it! ….I whine and moan all the way through it…. but I do like being able to cook ‘wintery’ food.

Nothing beats the smell of a baking pastry and blows the winter blues away. As you can guess from the title I used a little lard in the pastry. The recipe had half and half, butter and lard but I was never going to put that much in. I used more like an 20/80 mix.

I guess there are purists out there that have very set ideas about what vegetables should be in a pasty. I simply used a colourful mix. I was going to make the filling vegetarian but to  really be a Cornish pasty they must have meat in the filling.

I had some parsley in the freezer so I threw that in to make the filling look bright and cheerful.

You might make note that the vegetables I used made roughly twice as much filling as the pastry so doubling the pastry quantity for next time would be just right.

My crimping style would not win any prizes! (Traditionally Cornish pasties are supposed to have around 20 crimps) but hey, these are rustic homemade pasties right!

The recipe carried on about glazing the pastry with egg… I didn’t… I rarely do… perhaps it makes the pastry colour more evenly or gives the finished pasty a bit of gloss, but for me they are as good without all that fuss and bother.

So they didn’t look professional they weren’t glazed I didn’t measure any of the ingredients but they all disappeared very fast and were delicious…now that’s what I like!

Short crust Pastry

220 g plain flour
55 g butter
55 g lard
2 tablespoons water

Filling

1 medium-sized potato
1 medium onion
1 medium swede
1 medium carrot
4 teaspoons chopped fresh parsley
300gms. minced meat
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

pre-heat the oven to 180°C

Put the butter and lard in food processor with the flour. Pulse the mixture until the mixture is evenly crumbly with maybe the odd few larger lumps. Don’t overdo this mixing.. Sprinkle one tablespoon of water over the mixture and pulse until the mix comes together. Place the mix in a plastic bag in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile put the chopped swede, carrot, potato, parsley, and onion in a bowl mix the lot together with your hands so that the ingredients are roughly spread evenly throughout the mixture. Add the minced meat some salt (¼ teaspoon depending on your taste) and a few grinds of pepper.

Take the pastry from the refrigerator and roll it out with a rolling-pin to about 5mm (⅛ inch) thick. Press a saucer over the rolled pastry and cut round it to leave a circle of pastry. There should be enough pastry for 6 circles. You may need to do three circles then reform and re-roll the pastry. Place some of the filling on each circle, fold up and crimp the edges.

Cook the pasties in the pre-heated oven on a greased baking tray for 55 minutes.


This entry was posted in Cooking, Mains, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh lard won’t you bake me a Cornish pasty

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yummo! Will have to have a go at making them myself….perfect for this cold snowy weather in Orange.

  2. Troy says:

    Yep you have inspired me to make this, I will let you know how it turns out.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Yum, these look very delicious! Our family loves cornish pasties too!

  4. He who sits and watches the clock!!!! says:

    One day, young man, you will be enlightened upon the history of the Cornish Pasty.

  5. Anonymous says:

    T’ain’t a Cornish Pasty with all that gubbings in it, tis just a fancy pasty, but not Cornish!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

