Rosy baby cuteness

Once upon a time, I made a little dress covered in red rose buds for L, the newborn baby of our friends M and N.

She is now big enough to wear it. Isn’t she gorgeous?

.

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2008-134

As you can see, this pattern is for a short dress over ruffled bloomers. I lengthened the skirt to turn it into a dress. I didn’t make the bloomers

 

Pattern Sizing:

62 – 86 (3 months to 2 years), I made an 80 (1 year old). L is 18 months old and it looks like it fits well (L’s family moved from Australia back to Europe before she was big enough to fit into it, so I’m guessing).

 

Fabric Used:

Cotton batiste with larger red rose buds as the main dress fabric, plain white cotton voile for bodice lining, fine cotton for smaller floral bias strips and plain red cotton bias tape.

I love this rose bud fabric. It has a lovely soft hand and is fresh and bright but not garish. It’s been in my stash for a while, just waiting for the right project. You know, one of those almost-too-good-too-use fabrics. L’s parents are very stylish Italians, so I selected the fabric with some apprehension…

Changes I made to the pattern and design:

I lengthened the skirt sections by 19 cm to give an overall dress length of 48 cm.

I added a contrasting solid red strip and a smaller red rose floral strip to the bottom of the bodice.

I also added the smaller red rose floral bias tape to the edges of the ruffled sleeve,

and to the hem.

(If you think this fabric looks familiar, well that might be because the leftover bias strips made it onto one of Felicity’s skirts)

I added red buttons all the way done the back (I’m sure M and N curse me every time they have to dress their little girl and wonder why I didn’t use snaps).

I also used bias strips to finish the armscye off and french seams for the skirt, so, with the lined bodice as well, there are no raw or overlocked edges anywhere.

This is a versatile and simple summer dress pattern for babies and toddlers. Next time you need a gift for a baby girl, have some fun with cute fabric and trims and make a summer dress. I recommended it!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rosy baby cuteness

  1. Gail says:

    Oh that is sweet.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

