A shirt, not another skirt

It seems like all I’ve sewn recently is skirts (well, five skirts is a lot I ‘spose). Then I realised I haven’t blogged about a simple sleeveless shirt I made amidst all those skirts. The shirt has already been seen on the blog, but I haven’t told you about it!

And I should have blogged about this because it’s probably the first time I’ve made a BurdaStyle Magazine pattern within a month of the magazine’s arrival in my post box! Woohoo!

It’s an interesting style, almost like something from the Pattern Magic books with the inward pleats at the neck .

I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of it this season, under jackets when its cooler and on its own when it warmer, either tucked in or belted out.

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 09-2011-128

Sizing: 36-44, I made a 42

Fabric: A light cream cotton batiste with a subtle sparkly surface treatment. This is the third garment I’ve made from this fabric.

Changes I made: None! This one was made up exactly as Burda instructed

I think I can see some more tops in this style in my future…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A shirt, not another skirt

  1. Tia Dia says:

    Oh, I like this! I must say I completely overlooked this pattern, but the collar on it is catching my fancy after studying Alexander McQueen collars over the last few days.

  2. Shannon says:

    This looks great on you! I love this shirt and I’ve already done a muslin, but I just haven’t found the right fabric for it. Your version is making me want to go buy something and make it right now!

  3. Gail says:

    This pattern caught my eye in the latest issue of Burda to arrive on the newspaper shelf. I also liked the dress with the same shoulder pleat. Your skirt is great too.

  4. Audrey says:

    I like this pattern too. Your blouse looks so nice. It is a great style to wear by itself or under a jacket.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

