Cafe latte skirt

You’ve already seen this skirt, but, until now, I haven’t told you all the fascinating details about its construction.

[It has been ironed, very rigorously, but it’s a metallic poly cotton blend, and those metal threads just love crinkling up the weave unless they are pulled very taut.]

The style is a classic princess line pencil skirt with an integrated high waist, centre back zip and a walking vent. I added belt loops so it can be worn with a self belt (as above) or with a purchased belt.

Technical details

Pattern: Burdastyle 08-2011-122

Size: 36-42, I made a 42 grading out to 44 at the hips

Fabric: Medium weight cotton polyester metallic blend from Gay Naffine.

Changes I made:

I omitted the pockets and added belt loops. Kay the Sewing Lawyer has a great tutorial on making belt loops, which I sort of followed (by memory and then looked at again after it was too late to do anything different…)

I lined the skirt with cotton batiste. Both fabrics are delightful to touch and the cotton lining makes this skirt cool to wear in hot weather (34°C today and we’ve had a week of over 30°C; that’s over 85°F).

Instead of iron on interfacing I sewed organza onto the seam allowances of the lining for the integrated high waist of the skirt pieces and onto the fashion fabric in the seam allowances of the walking vent.

I made a matching gently curved tie belt. I copied a RTW belt and had just enough fabric left over, about 20 cm by 150 cm wide, to fit a curved 5 cm belt onto.

Changes I’ll make with the next version

I’m planning another version without the integrated waistband and with a godet inserted into the back seam (rather than the walking vent). The style is quite pegged and I find that the walking vent pulls apart and looks like a slit. A really bad example is below, and the heavier top tucked in is responsible for the drag lines across my high back hip ( I hope!-other back views don’t look as bad!)

I also like the other shorter version, style 08-2011-121, with the ruched front panel. If I had a lot more time and a need for a skirt like this, I’d try this too! ( but I say that about many patterns…)

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cafe latte skirt

  1. Sue says:

    Great skirt. I love that ruched version too and was just looking at it today!

  2. I had one of those fabrics with metallic threads and had to bin it in the end. It just wouldn’t press flat no matter how hard I tried.

    Your skirt looks really good. I like the tip about using organza in the waistband.

  3. Lisa says:

    Your fabric is really pretty it looks so different close up. I really like it . I could fall in love with the ruched version with the right fabric of course.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

