Wrapping up another blouse

I knew I needed to make another wrap front blouse.

The teenage fashion critic does not approve of the print for this style. I confess I did buy this fabric with a fun winter coat lining in mind.

She does think the blouse is almost acceptable under a jacket (ie well hidden..).

I like it either way and I’m sure it will brighten up my winter work wardrobe.

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 09-2010-111

Size: 36-42, I made a 42 grading out to 44 to the hips

Fabric: Stretch polyester

Changes I made

I was prewarned about the ties on the sleeves being annoying to wear, so I left them off. I thought I would sew elastic into the sleeve seam at the bottom but instead I made tucks and stitched them along the sleeve seam. This gives the overlong-sleeve-draping-onto- hand effect, but without the ties.

Instead of two buttons on both sides of the hip part of the blouse, I added one bright red one on the left side (it might be bright red but its well hidden by the very busy pattern!).

On the inner right side I added ties a bit like you get on some wrap front dressing gowns. The ends drape down out from the bottom of the blouse (as above) or I can tuck them in.

The ties are probably not a great idea, but they are workable on this version.

This blouse makes me smile!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wrapping up another blouse

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I like it! I especially love how you ended the sleeves- those ties would have been a distracting cat toy waiting to happen.

  2. I really, really love this. The print is fabulous (ignore young people they know nothing :)).

  3. starryfishathome says:

    I like this blouse, the pleats are a great idea. I made it in jersey, and it’s comforting. You have inspired me to give it another go, maybe the sleeveless version. Only take notice of teenagers if you want to!

  4. CherryPix says:

    Wow…love the print and your sleeve variation. Looks great!

  5. Tia Dia says:

    I love this bright-eyed print! And it is one of my favourite Burda blouse patterns. Nice work!

  6. Audrey says:

    I love this print too. The blouse looks great with the skirt and peeking out along the neckline of your jacket. . I admired it in the Burda mag, but wondered how it would look sewn up

  7. Karin says:

    Great print fabric! I made this blouse and the ties drove me nuts. Good move omitting them!

  8. Gail says:

    I really must add this blouse to my winter sewing. Perfect for work.

  9. This blouse make me smile too. I’ve gotta have a look at this pattern again.

  10. sewbussted says:

    You look fantastic. I really love the blouse paired with the jacket. Teenagers don’t know everything!!!!

  11. Pingback: Aprons and sewing karma | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

