More fabric purchasing

(It’s designer fabric sale time again).

The mystery fabric is quite gorgeous. It was purchased as a sample by the designer some time ago, but never used. The fibre composition isn’t known any more but it feels like a synthetic, perhaps with a silk thread in the coloured overlay pattern. I’ve just handwashed it and nothing terrible happened…

The grey floral rayon/poly/linen is crinkled and sheer and could look great under a suit. And that swirly zebra print turquoise chiffon? How could I leave that behind?

The wool/cotton woven fabric is reversible. So not only do I have to make a decision about what to make with it, I also have to decide what side to use.

He who Cooks says all these purchases just mean more weekends on his own while I spend time with my sewing machines. Is he trying to say that I need to bring more balance into my life? Perhaps I should spend less time at work….

On a serious note, I am very lucky to have a husband who enjoys spending time with me. And who also understands that I need to sew. And doesn’t complain or even comment on how much money I spent on the fabric or the space my stash takes up.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to More fabric purchasing

  1. Lynda says:

    Love your fabrics, where did you get them.

    • SewingElle says:

      One of Adelaide’s designers Gay Naffine, sells of her excess fabric at the end of each season (May and November). Her workroom is in the CBD (Hamley St, Adelaide) and that’s were the fabrics are available from. She doesn’t have an online presence or a shopfront and I think you can only buy her clothes from private viewings. So the fabrics are lovely, special and exclusive… and available twice a year only. The sale is still on until tomorrow.

  2. Beautiful fabrics. Why don’t you choose a pattern where you can feature both sides of the reversible fabric (in a collar or something?)

  3. Gail says:

    You’ve picked up some lovely pieces. I particularly like the teal suiting.

  4. sewbussted says:

    You scored some amazing pieces. I really love the sheer floral piece. I have a simiar piece that I am going to make into a dress and make a matching slip to wear underneath. Enjoy playing with your lovely new pieces. I look forward to seeing what you create.

  5. Lucia says:

    Wow! What beautiful fabrics… I am so coveting that swirly zebra! And the woolen heavyweight… and the cashmere suiting… oooh. And I love your color choices too, those light blues are great. Can’t wait to see what you make with your bounty!

  6. Karen says:

    I’m so jealous. I would try the Milly Darcie Combo dress for the reversible fabric. It would really show it off.

  7. Oh wow ….. lovely lovely things to make some lovely lovely things from.

    The red skirt for your daughter is fab and she looks gorgeous! Obviously she kinda likes the skirt too :o)

  8. Pingback: A not reversible straight skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

  9. Pingback: Overcoat pressure | He Cooks… She Sews!

  10. Pingback: Silver square neck top from 1992 | He Cooks… She Sews!

  11. Pingback: Green shoes, split image skirt and Rachel Comey top | He Cooks… She Sews!

  12. Pingback: The tale of two “muslins” | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

