Roberta Carr’s Couture book

I spent most of last week in Portland, Oregon or on a plane or in airports (Australia is a long way from Portland, just like it’s a long way from almost anywhere..)

I didn’t have time to get out to fabric stores in Portland, but I did get to Powell’s City of Books.

[image source]

Wow, what a place!! It covers a whole city block and has more than a million new and used books.

I spent quite a lot of my brief shopping time just in this one store.

A selection of children’s and young adult novels came home with me, as did a Jacques Pepin cookbook and this great preloved sewing book:


I’ve only had time to flick through it so far but it looks like a great resource.

Does anyone else have this book?

What do you think of it? Worth lugging it half way round the world!?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roberta Carr’s Couture book

  1. Katherine says:

    I have this book. There are a couple of techniques in it that I have not seen other places, that I have incorporated into my repertoire of sewing techniques.

  2. CherryPix says:

    Ooh…I love Portland! And Powells! And yes, that book is definitely worth lugging. As noted by Katherine above, it contains a number of techniques I haven’t seen elsewhere…and they’re very useful.

  3. Elle C says:

    I have that book (what sewing book don’t I have?). Worth lugging half way around the world. Definitely.

    I love Powells. We used to take vacations in Oregon in very large part because of Powells. That place is heaven for a book lover, isn’t it?

  4. Tia Dia says:

    I have that book, and I have referred to it for several things that I cannot find anywhere else, too. It looks a bit dated, but the techniques are tried, true and timeless!

  5. Audrey says:

    I have the book as well as many of her sewing tapes ( I have got to get those converted to DVDs)
    The book has some wonderful and unique techniques, even though the styles shown are outdated

  6. Pingback: Should I knockoff an Anthropologie dress? | He Cooks… She Sews!

  7. Pingback: A not reversible straight skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

