My Image Cowl to the rescue

After the Grey Dress of Doom, and before my obsession with the Anthropologie knockoff, I needed an easy project.

What better easy project is there than a knit top?

This fabulous cowl neck top is from My Image, the newish Dutch pattern magazine.

Melissa from Fehr Trade alerted me to the magazine when it first came out a year or so ago. I’ve admired several of her My Image creations, and her version of this pattern in particular.

It really is a gem. Three pattern pieces plus a back neck facing. Cut out and sewn up in an hour or so. Plus a flattering neck line!

It’s a good travel pattern too. I took this top with me to Portland. With jeans it made a good shopping and sightseeing outfit and with a nice skirt and heels I was ready for dinner.

I liked this style so much, and liked how quick and easy it was, I elongated the pattern and made a dress too.

So comfy. Its almost like wearing pajamas.

Technical details

Pattern: My Image M1152

Size: 34-44.

I made a 42, my normal Burda size, and the fit was better than Burda’s knit tops: closer fitting through the waist and the sleeves are nicely slim fitting too as well as being a bit longer than Burda, and that suits me just fine!

For the dress I continued the top down to my full hip measurements and then straightened out to just on the knee length for me. There was a bit of pooling at the back waist on my top, so I made a 15 mm swayback adjustment on the dress. This sorted most of the pooling out. This is a normal adjustment for me so I’m not so surprised I need it for My Image patterns too.

Fabric:

Both my garments are made from knits with medium body, so the cowl is a bit more structured than shown in the magazine.

My top is made from a mystery knit that has been in my stash for a long time. The dress is a wool knit from Gay Naffine.

This is a great cowl neck top. Not too low and revealing but still has lovely shape.

You can still buy the magazine from the My Image website.

At €3.50 it’s worth it just for this pattern alone. I’m not affiliated in any way with My Image, just love to share a great pattern…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Image Cowl to the rescue

  1. Kbenco says:

    These garments both look great. I am in love with cowl necks this winter too, but I don’t have a dress yet, what a good idea!

  2. carol says:

    I love cowls. I need this pattern!

  3. Mary Nanna says:

    I bought a couple of My Image magazines but am yet to make anything out of them – I like the RTW styling, they seem very wearable and accessible – as you confirm!

  4. Ruth says:

    Clever idea to elongate into a dress. Great tops.

  5. Karin says:

    Both the top and the dress look great! And if they are comfy too, then you know you will wear and wear them.

  6. prttynpnk says:

    Thats a great pattern- I love the versatility- you look great!

  7. Audrey says:

    I have got to try this pattern. All the versions I see of it on blogland , including yours, look so great.

  8. ozviking says:

    This is a beautiful pattern and I simply love your top. I want one too! So, my copy of the magazine is in the mail as they say. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Joyce says:

    Because of your comments about Imagewear I have just placed an order for this magazine
    Thank you for mentioning it

  10. sewbussted says:

    I love that top with the skirt. A perfect pairing and play on prints.

  11. Gail says:

    I like both very much. The blue knit fabric is extraordinary.

  12. Pingback: What did the sewing world in 2012 hold for me? | He Cooks… She Sews!

  13. Pingback: Shirting or skirting? | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

