Anthropologie knockoff completed

Grab your sunglasses.

I might have put this dress on, but it is definitely wearing me! Even my red patent platform wedges are playing second fiddle.

I’m glad this project is finished.

Technical Details

Pattern:

This dress was based on BurdaStyle’s boat neck long knit top (01-2011-123) in a size 42 with some changes, as described in a previous post to knockoff this dress

I lengthened the top to knee length, pegging back in from the hips, added horizontal bust darts, shortened the  bodice back, took it in at the waist and made a significant swayback adjustment.

It would have been easier to draft from scratch.

Fabric used:

The under dress is made from a medium to heavy weight white cotton knit with good four-way stretch and excellent recovery. It’s almost like spanz but not as stretchy.

The red and white stripy layer is medium weight four-way stretch cotton knit. With both these layers, the dress is quite robust and will be perfect for cooler summer evenings or spring.

Cutting out and construction:

For the dress under layer and the sleeves, the grain line was as normal: on centre front and centre back. For the panels the grain line was perpendicular to the bottom of each panel; so the stripes lined up with the panel hem lines.

I mirrored the front panels on the back.

All the panels were cut out with a 4 cm hem (two stripes worth, except the bottom layer with a 6 cm hem- three stripes worth) and with a 5 cm extension to the top of each panel (except the first bodice panel because it had shoulder seams). All the hems were sewn with a double needle.

There was lots of needle changing and rethreading for this project!

The fabric was delightfully compliant and the double needle hems didn’t buckle or bulge.

This is not my usual experience…

I stabilized the neck edge of the white under dress with Vilene bias tape and then sewed the side and shoulder seams of the white under dress and the side and shoulder seams of the top bodice panel.

After hemming the top bodice panel I stitched the under dress and the striped top bodice panel together at the neckline, wrong side of under dress to right side of striped bodice panel. Clipped, turned and pressed: the neck complete.

The armscyes were basted together.

Then the next panel was sewn together at the side seams, hemmed and the sewn onto the white under dress, 5 cm under the hem of the piece above it. And so on..

You can see how the panels overlay in this side view and there’s some in progress shots on the previous post.

For the bottom hem, I cut the white under dress to the final length I wanted and then wrapped the stripy fabric around it to the underside before using the double needle through all three layers. The final panel piece was therefore attached to the white under dress at the top of its panel and at the bottom. I didn’t want the thickness of two separate hems.

The sleeves were constructed regularly and had a 6 cm double needle hem. I lined up the stripes for the hem at the sleeve length I wanted but didn’t think about how the stripe on the sleeve head might align with the bodice. Luckily, one side looks almost as though I planned the alignment…

He who Cooks was right: navy and white would’ve looked good too:

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Anthropologie knockoff completed

  1. Judith says:

    Well you have certainly nailed this knockoff – super effort!!!

  2. CherryPix says:

    Excellent execution! Looks great! Like something you’d wear to a Melb Cup ‘do and knock everyone’s socks off. Very envious of your stripe matching!

  3. Carolyn says:

    This is awesome! I’ve been reading along and have been inspired by the way you worked this out. Like Judith said, you nailed this!

  4. Mary in FL says:

    Your dress is awesome! you did a great job! I love it!

  5. Tia Dia says:

    Whee!!!! I love this! What a great dress, and the red & white is PERFECT.

  6. Kbenco says:

    Your dress is a knockout. What a terrific outfit for dressy casual. The stripe matching is amazing and very architectural. How inspiring.

  7. Jacinta says:

    WOW, this totally looks like the dress from Anthropologie! 🙂

  8. Be very afraid – that noise you hear in the night is me sneaking into your house to steal this from your wardrobe. Of course, you can sleep well for a few nights because my passport is out of date and the flight takes a while!

    I love this so much! You must wear it every opportunity you get – don’t let it languish in the wardrobe. I’m only saying that because I have let far too many special garments (mainly bought in the past, and not sewn) languish until they either become unfashionable or they no longer fit me. This dress needs to be worn.

  9. carol456 says:

    Oh, I love this dress! You look terrific in it. Wear it whenever you can. Men always think things look good in blue; I think they are genetically predisposed to dislike any other colour.

  10. Brilliant! Worth every bit of effort, I’d say. Thanks for posting all the construction details, it’s very helpful.

  11. punkmik says:

    wow! this is brilliant! sch an inspiration! love it so much! Thanks for being so detailed about how you made it! you look fab!

  12. Kay says:

    I love,love, LOVE the dress…. It’s amazing on you. The colors, the style suit you really well.

  13. Stephanie says:

    Totally fabulous, wonderful dress! I am in awe. Make the most of the dress and wear it as much as you can whilst the trend is hot. I can’t help thinking a plain version in gorgeous textured knit might be wonderful, same dress just without stripes as well…

    • SewingElle says:

      I’m also thinking a lace evening version might work too. Just need a reason to make an evening dress… Reminder to self: focus on office wear! That what I wear 5 days out of 7!

  14. Gail says:

    I like the current model, but agree that red and white stripes are a bit strident. I’d wear it with black patent shoes or a contrasting colour – my daughter tells me that ‘too matchy matchy’ is all wrong. If you have the energy for another round I’d make a two-tone version of this using black and a bright colour – orange?

  15. Elle C says:

    Stunning. Absolutely stunning.

  16. Yummymummy38 says:

    Fabulous! Where did you find your fabric, might I ask? I have been looking for Ponti like striped fabric, even Tessuti has sold out of it…
    Having tried on said Anthro dress, I would say your version is better, as the Anthro is a more clingy jersey and shows ever lump and bump IMHO.
    Yummymummy

    • Yummymummy38 says:

      I see from your previous post that the red fabric is Gay Naffine’s. I think you have avoided the dreaded show every lump by constructing it in two layers. You might just need to make it in navy…
      As for me, since the BS Feb 2012, 117 is a winner for me, after petite alterations, I will patiently wait for some striped Ponti to turn up and make that, similar to Catherine Daze’s plans…

      • SewingElle says:

        When you find a striped ponti source, let me know! I can’t seem to locate ponti in Adelaide. Although perhaps there will be some at Gay Naffines sale in a week or so. Perhaps I’ll see you there?

  17. Pingback: What did the sewing world in 2012 hold for me? | He Cooks… She Sews!

  18. Pingback: Psychedelic ‘zebra’ skirt and friends | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

