Plans: A Chanel inspired jacket and the gorgeous fabric for it

This weekend’s ‘sewing’ activities.

  1. Tracing off patterns

    Burdastyle 03-2012-109

  1. Buying fabric online

click image to view source

The online buying fabric bit was a first for me.

But it was not just any online fabric seller, it’s Gorgeous Fabrics. I’m yet to hear a bad word about Ann’s fabrics or service, so I took the plunge.

And not just any fabric, either, but a spring weight wool boucle.

So many questions.

How long will it take to ship to Australia?

How much will the shipping actually cost (Ann does an estimate).

Will I have to pay duty?

And, most importantly, will it be as gorgeous as I expect it to be?

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Plans: A Chanel inspired jacket and the gorgeous fabric for it

  1. sewbussted says:

    Your jacket will be incredible. I’ll make a prediction that it will be your favorite garment. Can’t wait to see the finished masterpiece!

  2. Karin says:

    I made this pattern up in the summer and was really pleased with it. A lot of results for not much effort- yah! The fabric is very pretty, I hope it arrives quickly.

  3. It usually takes about two weeks to receive a parcel from Anne. She provides great service and I have been very happy with all that I have purchased from her. (You don’t need to pay any duty, BTW)

    • SewingElle says:

      Thanks, this is reassuring. Now I just need to be patient.

      • kaitui_kiwi says:

        When I was living in Perth I found out (the hard way) you only get charged duty on a single delivery if it totals over AUD$1000 – here in NZ it’s just NZD$400 but it’s not like I’d spend that much on fabric in one go, hehe…I’ve never really bought fabric on-line before but I’ve also heard good stuff about Gorgeous Fabrics (and seeing your follow up post) I think I’ll give it a shot

  4. starryfishathome says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing your completed jacket. The fabric looks lovely, I’ve been trying to summon up the courage to buy from Gorgeous fabrics, but am afraid of the duty.

  5. carol456 says:

    I’ve been buying from Gorgeous Fabrics for quite a few years now. I’ve never paid duty (nor have I for any US purchase in about 20 years). The fabric always arrives within 2-3 weeks, sometimes even quicker. I’ve had some arrive in as little as 10 days and that was to small town Crabbes Creek (northern NSW) where I don’t even have postal service (I have to pick my mail up from the local store). I’ve been thinking of making this same jacket.

  6. Exciting! What colour lining are you going to put with it?

    • SewingElle says:

      It depends…

      If it is very spring like (light), I’ll use white or cream.
      If its a bit more robust I’ll use blue or pink.

      Some lovely silk lining in powder blue and white is accompanying the boucle. It’s a long way to come all on its own…

  7. prttynpnk says:

    Oh, I want to see this coat!!

  8. Pingback: Gorgeous Fabrics | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

