Great minds think alike – update on competition sewing

It seems that I am not the only one thinking that Burastyle’s retro dress (12-2012-141) would be a good match for Tessutis competition fabric, gridlock.

But I am not as fast as Sue. She has already made a lovely sleeveless version.

Indeed lots of people have already completed some truly wonderful things. The pinterest page for this competition is inspiring

 

My creation is still under construction.

I’ve made a toile and tweaked the fitting.

(Hey don’t judge that bedroom: its tidy for a teenager!)

Changed the neckline to flatter me more.

Drafted and added a lining (Burda only lines the front skirt and back, not the front bodice)

Added red accents to the facing and decided that red overlocking thread would be much nicer than white or black.

Bought a beautiful shell button.

Bit there is still lots to do: Sleeves, hems, zip….

Deadline is midnight on Wednesday 3 April…

Happy Easter

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Great minds think alike – update on competition sewing

  1. Kerri says:

    Amazing detail on your lining… looks very professional.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Looking great so far. Love the pattern you picked for the fabric. Good luck!

  3. Bec says:

    That’s looking great! 🙂

  4. Oo this is one of those teaser posts ….. damnit lol…. t’will be worth the wait I know. BTW the teenager room looks amazingly tidy. I know a messy (aka normal) version very well, from my youth!

  5. Tia Dia says:

    I’ve seen a lot of this fabric around the interwebs lately, and I really really like it! I’m glad you’re making up this vintage Burda pattern – it’s going to be amazing!

  6. kaitui_kiwi says:

    Ohh love! The change to the neck line is definitely more flattering, love the secret touches of red, I am looking forward to seeing the final dress.

  7. Velosewer says:

    I would totally buy your dress.

  8. Ooooo – pretty. I didn’t really like the dress in the mag, but I love it in the fabric you’ve chosen.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

