Purple goodness

My go-to purple skirt needed replacing. I love purple. Something had to be done…

It’s a faux wrap skirt, with an inbuilt flounce

Its fauxness is exposed when its windy.

But it can be patted back in place

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 08-2007-113. Yes an oldie but a goodie.

Size: 38-46, I made a 42

Fabric: Synthetic stretch suede from my local bricks and mortar store, Ferrier Fabrics. The back is shiny.

Changes I made: 3 cm added in length and a 1cm sway back adjustment to the back yoke.

This style is supposed to sit at the waist but the ‘waist’ sits just below my belly button (too cold still to show that!):

Now I’m imagining another version with the wrap lined to the edge with a contrasting fabric, perhaps even some colour blocking?

I know, I know, my drawing skills could do with some work…

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Purple goodness

  1. Dilliander says:

    That style and colour look great on you. A lovely skirt!

  2. Gail says:

    I think your idea of lining the flounce would be great – black with a hint of white.

  3. grtescp says:

    a simple skirt with a little something extra, I am sure it will be a wardrobe staple!

  4. Kay says:

    It is beautiful, and looks great on you.

  5. Sewbussted says:

    The skirt is lovely and you really make it shine with the combination of the turquoise turtleneck top. Great color combo on you.

  6. Pretty skirt! I love this pattern.

  7. Karen says:

    It’s very pretty – and there is nothing faux about how flattering it is!

  8. Gjeometry says:

    I love this skirt! I have a similar pattern from Vogue – Sandra Betzina in the sewing queue.

  9. Chris says:

    A great pattern! And I think doing some colour blocking with the flounce is a great idea. Very creative!

  10. zomg I cut this pattern out two years ago in purple wool! And it’s still waiting to be sewn. Because i don’t wear skirts XD Looks great on ya but I can’t say I’ll be sewing mine anytime soon. Or maybe I should now that probability has smiled upon us both. What’m I saying. Clearly I need more sleep.

  11. Ingrid says:

    This skirt has been in my sewing queue for a while… however this week I am sewing costumes for book week at school. Thanks for reminding me about this pattern. I was going to use fabric with two different sides to emphasise the flounce, but I think the colour blocking idea is great.

  12. Carolyn says:

    It looks very nice! Now you are making me crave a little purple skirt in my wardrobe too… 🙂

  13. danvillegirl says:

    I love this skirt. I really like faux wrap skirts. I like the flounce, just the right extra for this skirt.

  14. Zoe says:

    Love the colour of the skirt and the flounce! 🙂

  15. Audrey says:

    Great skirt. I like that the fauxness prevents wardrobe malfunctions. The purple color is so fun.

  16. Oh there really is something about purple, isn’t there? It makes me look unwell I think but I do love it. This skirt is a goodie …. pesky wind notwithstanding XD

  17. Pella says:

    Lovely skirt, and what a great colour! Faux wraps save those emergency safety pins on the underwrap too. I like the colour blocking idea too.

  18. Rosy says:

    That skirt is great! And your idea of ​​sewing it with two contrasting fabrics is very interesting, please .. try that!

  19. Every Stitch says:

    I’m inspired to go find the box with 2007 Burda’s in and try this one. I’ve already downloaded the technical drawing so I can go play with Gimp on this one (Curious Kiwi’s instructions mean I don’t have to display my drawing skills)

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

