The after effects of the fabric sale

Blues

  • Graphic blue and grey print silk cotton blend
  • Blue border print silk cotton blend
  • Blue and white stripe silk chiffon ( to coordinate with the border print, perhaps..)
  • Teal blue stretch cotton woven

Neutrals

  • Cream and taupe stripe stretch linen woven
  • White Italian linen
  • Crinkle poly cotton blend
  • Plain white cotton polyester blend with 20% spandex (very stretchy, this is going to be gorgeous to wear)
  • Cotton silk blend budgie print (too cute!)

Reds (and lining)

  • Plain red midweight silk woven
  • Plain red linen cotton metallic blend (the sheen on this is gorgeous due to the metallic thread content, but metal makes the fabric scratchy, so the red silk is for linings and facings)
  • Coral stretch cotton woven
  • Grey and brown striped acetate lining. I like having a selection of good quality linings on hand.

My fabric stash thanks Gay Naffine and Lucy Giles, and so do I 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The after effects of the fabric sale

  1. Gail says:

    Great choices. I read on someone’s blog today that a stash is the compost of sewing inspiration.

  2. Marie says:

    Great haul there. What are your plans for these pieces?

    • SewingElle says:

      I don’t have definite plans for any of it, apart from
      – the coral stretch cotton will be a pencil skirt to go with a pink jacket I already have
      – the teal stretch cotton might be a Burda cowl dress 10-2012-118

      Of course all subject to change…

  3. Sewbussted says:

    That border print is beautiful!

  4. ellecsews says:

    Well I am green with envy, hey wait you bought no green fabrics! I especially love the budgie print, it is cute, but not cutesy. And I’m not even a print lover.

  5. Sofie says:

    What a great haul. I especially love all the reds. Ooh and the teal one.

  6. Clio says:

    Oooh! I especially like the blues…and reds…. no, blues… maybe reds best.

  7. Ingrid says:

    Ahh yes I went on Friday and was fairly restrained compared to some of the other ladies there at the time. I couldn’t get there until mid-morning and the selection had been well picked over already but you managed to get some great pieces! I got a green version of the silk/cotton border print and some lovely canary yellow stretch denim to go with a colourful silk remnant that another lady rejected (and I promptly snatched up!!). Sadly they told me that after the next sale Gay Naffine will retire so they may not have these any more. Boo hoo!!!

    • SewingElle says:

      Oh that is sad news indeed! Now I am even more glad that my stash is well stocked!
      I saw the green version of the border print, as a garment, when I was there on Saturday, but it was already all gone as fabric, and I was tempted by the yellow stretch cotton (perhaps that was similar to the denim you bought?). Your choices sound lovely.

  8. yummymummy says:

    I bought that blue graphic print last time to make a special beach coverup, it’s beautiful to wear. Got some of that blue border print, like yourself, and the teal stretch cotton/nylon/lycra, rather than the blue you bought. Happy sewing!

  9. Carolyn says:

    Love your new choices…I’m sure they will bring many hours of sewing enjoyment!

  10. Pingback: Coral skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

  11. Pingback: It is a red sack | He Cooks… She Sews!

  12. Pingback: The last summer dress and drape-y overtop | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

