Coral skirt

Despite my neutral expression, I am very pleased with this skirt!

My plan to cut out a size larger worked; the fit is good, even when I lean back too much and it wrinkles!

The diagonal pieced front is flattering

The zip at the back is a cool feature (yes, still leaning back a bit oddly!)

The skirt works well with my pink jacket

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 02-2012-121

Size 36-44, I made a 44 grading back to 42 at the waist, and made my normal sway back adjustment.

Fabric used:

This pattern is designed for jersey. I used a stretch cotton woven, so I cut out a size larger than normal with more generous seam allowances on side seams. I didn’t need the more generous seam allowances, and I took the sides in from the hips to the waist after basting and trying it on.

I lined the yoke with stretch polyester rather than use the drafted facing. I used these facing pattern pieces to cut out iron on interfacing, which I ironed on after I’d pieced the yokes together.

I accentuated the diagonal lines by going over the seams with a double needle. I used a double need for the hem too, because this fabric has a reasonable amount of spandex and good stretch and recovery.

My zip was close in colour to the fabric (how lucky was that?!), but not quite long enough. So that’s why I have a tiny slit at the bottom. While it’s not the same shape as the slit on my jacket, I like the way it repeats the effect in a more casual way.

Bottom line (he he): Great skirt, flattering style, gorgeous fabric, happy colour.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Coral skirt

  1. Kristy says:

    How have I overlooked this pattern? Your skirt is amazing, those seam lines are really interesting and flattering. Lovely colour on you too, very nice outfit

  2. Sofie says:

    I must agree with your bottom line (he he also)! It goes really well with your jacket. I have always loved the lines on that skirt.

  3. Gail says:

    I love the lines of the pattern. I made the dress, but actually prefer the skirt. Your colour choice pops with style.

  4. Such a cool skirt. It’s a beautiful color and I love the zip!

  5. Sewbussted says:

    So pretty. I like how the zipper matches perfectly with the v at the bottom of the jacket. Great little detail. I want those shoes 😉

  6. Tia Dia says:

    I love seeing patterns made up in fabrics they were not designed for. This is a great skirt!

  7. Karen Helm says:

    Very pretty! It’s a simple skirt with some great lines and details to it, which make it a “wow”! You look so good in it, too!

  8. Sue says:

    Well done on the successful make in a different fabric. The whole outfit looks great and you have to love when your wardrobe comes together like that (I wish mine did a bit more often!)

  9. Ruth says:

    What a lovely colour! The zip is fantastic well done.

  10. This is a very flattering skirt on you, both the colour and the shape. Goes beautifully with your jacket.

  11. Paola says:

    Love that colour, and the seam lines are so different. Mmmm..maybe I need to subscribe to Burda again.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

