Glasgow fabrics and the Scottish Highlands

More tartans have made it into my suitcase.

Another wool tartan, dress weight this time, and a wool gauze.

I couldn’t leave without this fun knit either. It combines fashion with tartan. What better souvenir of a holiday to Scotland, London and Paris could there be??

And the floral rayon? No excuse or good reason why that come with me. Its was just so pretty and drapey. And border prints are hard to come by..

These fabrics came from Mandors Fabrics; an excellent fabric store in the centre of Glasgow. Again, thanks to Karen of Did You Make That? for her article in The Guardian on fabric shops in the UK.

It’s a well stocked store:

 

And now the scenery between the last fabric store and this one:

Near Inner Loch Torridon

Inner Loch Torridon, low tide

Not really a swimming beach. Forgot my swimming costume anyway. Perhaps one of those head to toe Victorian woollen costumes would have been the way to go!

The Torridon, our luxury accommodation

One of the other guests enjoying our view

Outer Loch Torridon

Boating looks like it would be fun; one of the many lochs through Glencoe.

Black Mountain. The cairn was in memory of mountaineers who lost their lives climbing these mountains. “They died in a place they loved.”

A starkly beautiful, wild and barren area. The Highlands are truly majestic, in many different ways.

I’ll remember them every time I fondle my fabric and dream about what I’m going to sew…

 

 

This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Glasgow fabrics and the Scottish Highlands

  1. Rachel says:

    I am totally smitten by the border print and just happen to be in Glasgow tomorrow…. 😉 Glencoe is hauntingly beautiful, whatever the weather/time of year. I hope the midgies stayed away though! Whenever a Scot asks me why I left the beauty of NZ I say to them – have you seen Glencoe recently? It’s simply stunning. I can recommend the Bridge of Orchy for a bit of food – we had the best venison burgers there once. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Rachel ☺

    • SewingElle says:

      Did you get the border print. That would be so cool! We could do joint blog posts about what we sewed!
      We were too early for midgies, but also blessed with sun. Lucky us!

  2. grtescp says:

    such wonderful souvenirs – and thank you for sharing these wonderful images of the place I called home for a couple of years, I still miss Scotland; and still find the landscapes stunning every time I see them.

  3. sewbussted says:

    What a glorious fabric shopping trip you are having. And you’ve managed to get a little sight seeing in on the side ;)!!!
    Wow, that knit is, well….I WANT it!!! Such fun! And that border is so very pretty. You are going to have so much fun with all your pieces once you get back home.

  4. Gosh what a place! The mountains and rolling hills and crags and lochs and everything. Glorious indeed. Oh and the fabric, well I can understand why that is coming home with you 😉

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

