The dilemma of which pattern

Thank you for all your lovely comments on the blouse I made for Felicity.

I’ve made a lot of stuff for her recently. But now, the selfish seamstress in me has forced its way out: the next project is going to be all about me!

Using this delightful scuba knit from EmmaOneSock

Why is it this fabric, apart from it being gorgeous?

It’s thick.

If I delay too long, it will be summer and a scuba knit is too thick to be summer weather appropriate in Adelaide. So it has jumped to the head of the queue.

 

This fabric has already been very clear that it wants to be a colour blocked dress partnered with black.

I have two patterns vying for its attention.

BurdaStyle 09/2012 #121

 

My Image 1412 (thank you Melissa of FehrTrade for gifting me with this)

 

I love the bottle shape of the insert in the BurdaStyle one and the cute cut-on cap sleeves and the wrap around side seams but I know the My Image pattern will be more practical with its longer sleeves. And I have no doubts about how good it will look: Timmithea has already made this pattern up with this same scuba knit and black lace.

Perhaps I should redraft the My Image dress centre panel to be more like the BurdaStyle one?

So, dear readers, which pattern do you think it should be?

This entry was posted in Sewing, WIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The dilemma of which pattern

  1. Carole says:

    I THINK YOU SHOULD CHOOSE COLOR BLOCK DRESS by Deby Coles on Sew so Easy, I have got it but not sewn it up yet but I think it looks divine and is just begging to be made up in your beautiful scuba print. However which ever you choose it will turn out lovely as do all your garmentsX

  2. Glenda Smith says:

    Hi Liz, Shams of Communing with Fabric just made a scuba fabric dress out of the second pattern. Check out her blog if you haven’t already. That is beautiful fabric, for sure.

  3. yummymummy says:

    Personally I like the Burda one, and I would tend to wear them with tight fitting merino knits underneath for winter anyway. If you redraft the 2nd pattern, I would do away with the shoulder patches. I would love to see the first, with a darker colour on the sides. I plan to make a fushia and navy Ponte version of that dress next winter, so I am biased…

  4. Summerflies says:

    I like the My Image one. I also really like the shoulder patches but don’t think it makes it look dated. I think it will be a lovely dress either way. It is almost too hot already here in Brisbane for scuba knits – I’m thinking to start making some spring/summer maxis as jeans are getting too hot in the day time already.

  5. Teri says:

    I like the Burda. The curves in the front and the interesting back make the pattern.

  6. sewbussted says:

    I vote for the Burda pattern.

  7. CherryPix says:

    Colour blocking with that fabric will be brilliant – I think the Burda dress is a tad more edgy???

  8. Marie says:

    I vote for the Burda one

  9. Chris says:

    I prefer the Burda dress too. It is a petitesize, if i remember correctly? Will you need to Do a lot of grading with the pattern?

  10. Love that fabric! Do whichever pattern makes you feel the most regal because that print is opulent.

  11. Rachel says:

    Pretty fabric! I like the My Image one (and thank you for highlighting a pattern company I had not heard of – exciting!). The Burda one is great, but I find styles that over-enhance the female shape difficult to wear in real life (I feel like they are too sexy for work, it’s a foible of mine). If not a thing you struggle with, then definitely enhance the panel in the My Style one – it will look great. Rachel ☺

  12. I like the front of the My Image, but the back of the Burda, just to confuse the situation! If you go with the My Image, I vote for elbow length sleeves. Please don’t keep us in suspense for too long!

    • SewingElle says:

      Thank you to everyone who posted. Burda is clearly the preference.
      I have still found it so hard to actually settle on the Burda one, because I was concerned about a thickish dress with bare arms.
      So what helped me decide?
      I wore a similar style (the grey dress of doom, bare arms, wool fabric, high neck) to work with a jacket yesterday. It worked. I just need to make that cute bolero jacket that Burda show this dress with!

  13. sewruth says:

    It doesn’t matter which dress you choose to sew – you’re sewing for YOU!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

