Writing Secrets Blog Hop

Have you, like me, been enjoying the blog hop about blog writing that’s been going around? Imagine my delight when Catherine of Cyberdaze asked me to be part of it!

So, here goes.

 

What am I working on now?

This dress for my daughter is the current WIP

BurdaStyle 03/2013 #110.

I’m using a gorgeous textured Japanese cotton.

 

How does my work differ from others in the genre?

It really doesn’t. There are lots of sewing blogs like mine, and most of them are more interesting. Some have recipes too, and post about travel and fabric purchases, just like mine does. Lots of sewing blogs have lots of technical detail too, just like mine. Nothing to see here, just another sewing blot.

One very minor point of difference is content. I make and blog about a lot of BurdaStyle Magazine patterns. A lot. Almost everything I sew is a BurdaStyle pattern. My first blog post was about a BurdaStyle pattern.

What a cute little girl she was in 2010! Burda Style 02-2008-114

How amazed I was with the first comment I got on this trench coat blog. How did they find that post so quickly? What an amazing world the sewing blog world was! I still feel like this.

More grown up in 2013. BurdaStyle 08-2012-113

Lots of BurdaStyle isn’t a deliberate point of difference to make me stand out of the sewing blog crowd.

It’s just the way it is.

BurdaStyle 08-2009-124 and 12-2012-117

I like lots of things about BurdaStyle Magazine patterns.

BurdaStyle 04-2010-125

I like the fit, the edgier European styles, the fact I get lots and lots of patterns every month for a moderate price.

BurdaStyle 03-2009-107 

I also don’t mind the bit about the issues being the wrong season for Australia. This gives me time to see the patterns made up by others before I dive in.

The jacket is Burda World Of Fashion 12-2005-113 (sometimes it takes me more than one season to get around to sewing up the patterns!)

Why do I write what I do.

I started* this blog a year or so after I discovered the wonderful world of online sewists. I wanted to be part of this fabulous community!

Since then, I’ve also found my blog to be like a very useful journal. I like having my makes documented for my own future reference. Even the images of my fabric purchases are a useful reference for me when I’m not home and am thinking about sewing

My first online fabric purchase!

I find it amazing that other people like to read the stuff I write. And comment. And I love the community that we have as sewing bloggers. It’s awesome that even one thing I share might be helpful to someone else, because I have been helped so much by others.

* I didn’t really start this blog, He Who Cooks did. It used to be a cooking blog called Beurreblanc before I started posting. He graciously changed the name to He Cooks…She Sews.

For a while posting was a joint thing, but his contribution slowly petered out. Now it is me who writes the baking posts. He Who Cooks might have found the attention the sewing posts were getting a bit discouraging ..

 

 

How does my writing process work?

Most of the time, blog posts are about finished projects, so nothing happens until I have photos of the final garment styled on my daughter or myself.

Then I write the blog post. Usually after Sunday lunch or late at night. Blogging feels a bit like stolen time. Anyone with children, elderly parents and a demanding full time job will know what I mean!

It’s usually stream of consciousness stuff with a section of technical details at the end, for my future reference. I do a bit of editing to try and improve readability (but not much, as you already know because you read this blog!).

I enjoy putting together blog posts and I love being part of the online sewing community. I don’t want to spoil it by making myself worry too much about perfect writing. You, my wonderful blogging friends are delightfully forgiving of the poor quality of my expression.

 

Thanks for reading. I’m passing the baton on to Gail of My Fabrication, Allison of Allison.C Sewing Gallery and Ruth of CoreCouture.

I have enjoyed these three blogs for a long time. They are inspiring, stylish, talented and thought provoking. I’d love to know more about how they do it!

This entry was posted in Sewing, Uncategorized, WIP. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Writing Secrets Blog Hop

  1. Kbenco says:

    I’m finding this blog hop quite fun. I am pretty sure though, that the “how is this different” question comes from some other “genre” of blogs – the sewing community seems quite happy to have a lot in common with each other, which is how I like it too.
    I enjoy your blog.

    • SewingElle says:

      I agree, I like the general similarity in the sewing community combined with the uniqueness that each sewist brings to their projects and expression on their blogs.

  2. Long live Burda! Actually one thing I think is different about your blog is how contemporary and sharp your style is. One of the reasons it’s one of my favourites.

  3. Bernice says:

    I have only recently discovered your blog and I find it very inspiring. I think I will have to check out Burda patterns. Thank you.

  4. Gail says:

    Thank you for the recognition! I enjoy reading your blog.

  5. LubbyGirl says:

    I’ve never tried a Burda pattern. I like the looks of these, especially that first photo, and that gorgeous yellow and black fabric!

  6. Wow how your girl has grown lol … as they do! And how lovely to read about you and your blog. I do love stopping by to check out what you’re up to and BurdaStyle was how I found your corner of the internet.

    • SewingElle says:

      I particularly enjoying putting together this ” retrospective”. You know your children are growing, but it’s nice to step back and see how much they have changed.

  7. sewruth says:

    Yay – just doing catch-up. Really interesting read and I’m really glad you blog. thank you

  8. liza jane says:

    I know exactly what you mean about ‘stolen time.’ I am a big fan of Burda patterns, too. Although I don’t put forth the effort to trace them half the time. Love reading these blog hop posts!

  9. Pingback: Blog Hopping | corecouture

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

