Fashion Icons in Adelaide

Masterpiece’s from the Collection of the Musée Des Arts Décoratifs, Paris at the Art Gallery of South Australia.

You need to go!

I was very lucky to be invited to the official opening on Friday night.

A very elegant crowd awaited in the forecourt for the formalities.

There was even a street fashion photographer with all the essentials: pink hair, designer sports-inspired ensemble, camera.

Style continued at the reception

This event definitely needed a New Frock.

The Gallery thoughtfully provided a photo booth to record your outfit.

Both Melissa and I were in frocks we had made. She was wearing a floaty dress in a wonderful floral Rorschach silk print. Mine was a halter neck from embroidered chiffon with pleather paillettes. More on that in another post.

The exhibition itself was wonderful. Photography wasn’t allowed but this wasn’t well signposted so I did take two, before being asked to cease.

Christian Dior’s 1947 Bar Suit: self covered buttons. Ruth, this one was for you!

One of many beautiful gowns.

Some images from the Art Gallery website:

I loved all these gowns, and many more.

It is a wonderfully curated collection. I’ll be going again. I strongly encourage you to go too!

This entry was posted in Sewing, travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fashion Icons in Adelaide

  1. Ingrid says:

    I plan to visit this soon with my sister. Lucky you, scoring an invite to the opening! You look fabulous, can’t wait to hear about your frock.

  2. madeco says:

    Nice pics ! I love this kind of exhibition : that gives always new ideas for sewing. Great blog !

  3. sewruth says:

    Wow! There’s some style in Adelaide! I bet you outshone them all. Thanks for the great pics (and buttons) and I would dearly love to go. I’ll have to do a vicarious visit through you.

  4. jillybe says:

    I’ve never, ever seen houndstooth look so good! The trouble with amazing events like this is that I really want to wear (even try on!!!) some of the displays! Wow. 🙂

  5. What a wonderful exhibit!! One minor correction, though. The 1947 Bar Suit was designed by Christian Dior, not Yves Saint Laurent.

  6. Oh, My! Looks like a fabulous exhibit – can’t wait to see your frock!

  7. Paola says:

    Wow. I’m starting to wonder how I can swing a trip to Adelaide.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

