Formal Dress progress with bonus Easter cuteness

It has got to that stage. Of not liking what I am sewing.

It’s not because I don’t like the colours of the fabrics I’m using…

Graphic fashion fabric on the left, neon yellow crepe for the bodice underlayer on the right, and neon lime organza for the underlining at the bottom, complete with orange markings for the waist tucks.

or that the organza underlayer needed to be basted to the top fabric by hand around the tucks and darts..

and the style is fabulous.

I am just a bit over it all.

There is still lots to do. And a deadline to meet.

 

And the bonus Easter goodness? That’s thanks to my friend Karen, who served these delights at craft night last night

Devilled eggs ….. as chickens.

Cute eh? Perhaps a little bit creepy too.

 

Happy Easter to those who celebrate

 

This entry was posted in Sewing, WIP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Formal Dress progress with bonus Easter cuteness

  1. sewbussted says:

    What an adorable way to serve deviled eggs!!! They would be great for showers too. Thanks so much.
    As for the dress, think about how happy you’ll be once it’s finished 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I l.o.v.e. those little chicks! How creative and painstakingly cute. The dress is looking fabulous. I love your (Felicity’s?) fabric choices. Being done a project mentally while still in the midst of it always brings me back around to the enjoyment of the process, something that I have had to train myself to enjoy, being a little type A. I hope you will still enjoy the creative time spent in making a gorgeous garment and handling lovely fabrics. 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    Those little chicks are adorable!! I think the dress is looking great but I totally get where you are at! Been there myself! The worst thing is I have several ALMOST FINISHED projects!! That I need to finish!!

  4. QSSSue says:

    The little chicks are adorable! What a lovely sewing group you have. I hate deadlines too, especially on items that are involved and particularly if you have muslined also. That is exactly how I felt when I made my last formal dress. However it will be all worth it when you see your daughter in it at her formal. It looks gorgeous so far.

  5. Pingback: Formal! Revealed! | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

