Classic navy top in a modern shape: BurdaStyle 02/2016 #103

I really love this top!

I love the fabric.

I love the high low hem

I love the plain back.

I even love the silly little pocket!

I especially love the proportions: sort of crop toppish, but I can lift my arms and not scare anyone with my midriff! ( too be fair, this is a high waisted skirt!)

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 02/2016 #103

There’s been a few nice versions of this pattern appearing in the sewing blog world lately: Handmade by Chris  and The Compulsive Seamstress are two I’ve seen in the last few days

Size: 36-44, I made a 42

Fabric: A beautiful soft cotton knit with fabulous recovery. Bought from Gay Naffine’s sales more than 5 years ago. Sadly this is the last of this piece. The back is slightly sheer polyester crepey chiffon, from deep in the stash. Probably 15 to 20 years old. Vintage!

I cut the back out of a double layer and joined the pieces together at the hem- so that’s a seam rather than a tuned up hem. After joining at the hem, I baste all the edges together and treated the double layer as if it was a single layer

The pocket is the wrong side of the cotton knit. I ironed on interfacing around the edges to give it a bit more structure. I didn’t want a stretched out pocket when I sewed it on!

Changes I made:

Burdastyle intends the neck facing strip to be turned to the inside. I treated it more like a classic T-Shirt neckline binding, so it fills the neck in a little bit.

It also adds a contrast to the back view.

Now, how many more should I make?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Classic navy top in a modern shape: BurdaStyle 02/2016 #103

  1. Andrea says:

    I bought this book the other day and there are several patterns in there that appeal to me for a change. This pattern is one of them. I love yours! The seaming of the back was a good tip as was the pocket interfacing.

  2. Chris says:

    I think you should make loads more! I love how you stitched the back pleat closed for a few cms – I think that looks a lot better than the original.
    Must put little pockets on my versions – they really are cute.

  3. Cute top. You should make lots more.

  4. sewbussted says:

    What a great look on you. The top can go from funky fun to sophisticated. Really nice.

  5. Tia Dia says:

    Great top! Every iteration of this pattern I’ve seen I love. I agree: make more!

  6. Nonsuch says:

    love this top. when you feel you have enough of these for yourself, you could always make them for your dearest friends….

  7. Mary says:

    I love your shirt.

  8. sewruth says:

    I really love this top too. You need loads – you need some to wear with jeans, chinos and shorts: posh skirts and casual skirts: PJ bottoms and just plain knickers!

  9. Ooh, I like this, very cute.

  10. danvillegirl says:

    Love this top and I like how you used the back facing!

  11. Gail says:

    This pattern caught my eye too. Good to see it works for the office as well as the weekend. The back band is a nice touch.

  12. Pingback: The ‘Your time starts now’ skirt | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

