Very Hungry Caterpillar shirt and shorts: BurdaStyle 06/2013 #120 and 03/2016 #113

Alternative title: Late summer sewing I neglected to blog about earlier.

Alternative to the alternative title: three blog posts in as many days? what is going on?

Let’s go back to Felicity’s formal. That event needed an after party (AP) outfit.

White shorts and a cute shirt was my brief. Specifically, a cute shirt made from Very Hungry Caterpillar fabric.

(image source)

I was time poor, so a previously adjusted pattern was used: BurdaStyle 06/2013 #120

Back in October 2013, this pattern made a shirt-dress with lobsters and other food.

Cut shorter, and two and a half years later, this pattern made a fitted shirt with caterpillar and food. Hmm bit of a food thing going on here

A demure knee length skirt was not, of course, what she paired the shirt with at the AP!

The AP outfit was completed with white shorts and converse. I have no photos from the night. But trust me, it was cute.

I’ll tell you more about the shorts soon. Let’s stick with the caterpillar for a bit.

The shirt has a unique collar. Totally intentional of course (tongue firmly in cheek)

That’s what happens when you don’t have instructions with you, your traced pattern doesn’t include all markings, and you’re a bit of a shirt collar newbie.

Tab collars, I call them. Or gaping mouths. Totally on song for the fabric

Okay, confession over

For the shorts, I used a pattern from a recent BurdaStyle: 03/2016 #113

I might have even made these in the same month as I received the magazine. That happens only very occasionally.

This was my first fly front for more than twenty years. Burda’s instructions were not stellar. Heard that before?

The pocket trim is very cute.

The stretch cotton I used for the shorts has been in my stash for ages. It’s a ‘souvenir fabric’; from G Street Fabrics in Washington DC, a souvenir of an American Chemical Society annual meeting.

 

Now, talking about souvenir fabrics, I’m looking for some advice. London and Brighton advice.

I have work travel next week. It will include a tiny amount of free time: half an afternoon on the day I arrive in London (I call this walking around to get over jet-lag ) and perhaps half a Saturday afternoon after my conference ends in Brighton.

Should I sight-see or should I souvenir-fabric shop?

I’m kidding of course. My sightseeing will be fabric and sewing themed.

In London I’m thinking the high end fabric stores in Berwick Street, Soho. I think this might end up a bit more like a museum visit than a visit with intent to purchase. But I’ve not been to these shops before, and I have been to Goldhawk Road  and Liberty (and still have the fabric in the stash to show for it.. I need to sew more…). I would so love to visit the Man Outside Sainsburys, but my schedule doesn’t permit.

In Brighton I’m thinking Ditto Fabrics. I have also been commissioned to purchase chocolate from Choccywoccydoodah. Chocolate is close enough to fabric, right?

What do you think? Other things I should do or places I should go?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Very Hungry Caterpillar shirt and shorts: BurdaStyle 06/2013 #120 and 03/2016 #113

  1. Just fabric shopped in London for the first time yesterday. Bought fabric for a Tillie & the Buttons blouse at Liberty, strolled through the Cloth House, then rummaged in the clearance basement at Misan (a couple of doors down from the Cloth House). Would definitely have done serious damage at Misan had the husband not been bored to tears.

  2. Gail says:

    Fun fabric! I really love the scallop effect on the trouser pants – might usevthis in a pattern mashup project. Thanks for inspiring!

  3. Summerflies says:

    Those shorts are just so cute and I love the scalloped detail. Chocolate and fabric… match made in heaven. Also you’ll sightsee on the way to the fabric shops… tick, tick, both accomplished.

  4. Nonsuch says:

    love those shorts. impressed with fly front and loving the scallops.
    I have no recommendations for fabric shopping but I can only hear Lydia from Pride & Prejudice whining “awwwwwh, I want to go to Brighton….” She speaks for me.

  5. What a cute shirt!

    In your circumstances I think I’d go for Berwick St too. I second the recommendation for the Misan bargain basement. There are several Misans on the street and the basement is in the one closest to Oxford Street. The new MacCulloch and Wallis is very close to Berwick Street and worth a visit. Lacks the character of the old one but the stock is still great. Have a great time!

  6. A very cute shirt indeed and those shorts with the scallop detail….gorgeous. Enjoy your fabric shopping opportunity.

  7. Pingback: In London with Felicity | He Cooks… She Sews!

  8. Pingback: Wattle shirt-dress: Burdastyle 06/2013 #103 pattern hack | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

