The ‘Your time starts now’ skirt

As ridiculous as it is, I made a skirt to wear on the plane just 2 hours before I had to travel.

Yes it does match my suitcase colour

I know. It was just an elastic- waisted skirt with two seams, darts and a hem, but still. I feel all Great British Sewing Bee about it!

Sometimes the #SimpleThingsInLife are the best.

Let me show you a better picture of it

Keeping it real here with slippers and morning coffee.

You can see I made another version of BurdaStyle 023/2016 #103 , too. This one is in delightfully patterned cotton jersey that came to me via designerfabricsaustralia. Its super stretchy. I think it might ends up as marvelous pajamas.

Back to the skirt. It was fabulous for travelling. Easy to move in. Maybe a bit short? Fabulous bright colour. Didn’t crush or wrinkle much. Scuba, so 100% polyester. Lucky it wasn’t too hot…

What did I see and do whilst travelling? If you follow me on Instagram, you might have already seen some of this…

Beautiful Turkey through the plane window. Great weather started even before I arrived.

Scenes around St Pauls Catherdral- walking around on the day you arrive is jetlag remedy #1.

Berwick St London fabric window shopping – jetlag remedy #2

A day in the London office. What a building! With the early morning view around the Strand on the walk there. I was so lucky with weather.

After all that hard work (seriously, it was great to catch up with the London team), I was off to Brighton for a wine conference.

I know. My life is very hard.

More about Brighton (Ditto Fabrics!) in the next post.

 

This entry was posted in Sewing, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The ‘Your time starts now’ skirt

  1. Jann says:

    Yes, Misan Fabrics in Berwick Street was where I got my gorgeous piece of alpaca/wool coating! One of their three stores in that street was just fabulous!

  2. Chris says:

    Wine conference??? Honestly, how cool is your job! Can’t even think about the sewing now… 😉

  3. Sweet traveling outfit! Especially daring with the slippers.

  4. Summerflies says:

    I bet they pay you for that job too!! Great fun skirt… not too short. Looks terrific. That top looks really terrific.

  5. sewruth says:

    I bet your skirt is way better than what’s being sewn on GBSB. Looks perfect for travelling in and heading straight to work. Great job (both the skirt and the day job).

    • SewingElle says:

      Ahh but I didn’t have the ‘joy’ of being interrupted by Esme or Claudia (whom I love) or Patrick (who I’m starting to find a bit annoying, despite his suaveness), just my lovely supportive family.
      The skirt has been great so far. Lets see how it goes in more summery weather. That scuba/double knit polyester might be a bit sticky.

  6. amalitar says:

    Walking in daylight is also my jetlag treatment of choice. I only wish my work destinations had great fabric shops to choose from. I hope you’ll show us your bounty soon! I have to figure out how to need to go to London for work, although after the Brexit vote today that looks less and less likely…

  7. Gail says:

    There is only one answer to jetlag…Business class! I flew BC to London on business trip last year (first time ever) and I’m not sure I can do economy again. Love the red skirt and the urgency of the task!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

