Sew, a needle pulling thread

..and following on from talking about some of my favourite things and other quotes from Sound of Music..

I give you dresses made from curtains for attending the Sound of Music this week in Adelaide.

We thank IKEA for supplying the raw materials

and Nanette for organizing the tickets (and photobombing on the night)

The musical was fantastic.

We had a ball.

Thanks to the awesome ladies at the bar who instantly got why we were dressed like this. Our night would have been complete if we’d also managed to get a photo with the two guys in lederhosen…

Technical details

Patterns:

Burdastyle 02/2011 #101

Burdastyle 03/2015 #121 with the in seam pockets of #122

Sizes:

42 for mine, with no changes

38 for Felicity with an FBA and raised neckline. I’d made this dress for her previously in 2011, she still wears it (despite my prediction, this turned out to be a much loved dress) and it still just fits so I used the previously adjusted pattern.

Not a perfect fit, but well and truly fit for purpose

Fabric: Ikea cotton curtains. It’s a somewhat loose weave, so I used strips of interfacing to reinforce the neck lines of both, and the raglan sleeves on the bodice of my dress. I know. I probably will never wear it again, but I couldn’t help myself.

The hems and side seams of the curtain were repurposed as the hems and side slits on my dress, and the eyelets and rings made a nice feature on Felicity’s dress. Also, no hemming by me at all of both dresses. That’s got to be a win!

Yes, the side slits do come up quite high.

And how great is my daughter? How many eighteen year olds would be happy to wear matching mum and daughter floral frocks?

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sew, a needle pulling thread

  1. sewruth says:

    Fantastic! You both look great and you should wear the dresses again and again.
    Love the Burda pattern you chose too.

  2. nothy says:

    What beautiful dresses!

  3. Tia Dia says:

    Awesome! Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

  4. sandra says:

    what a great story, very artistic and pretty dresses.

  5. Philo says:

    Hey Sewingelle, your dresses look beautiful on you both. Here in Germany it is popular, too, to use IKEA fabrics for clothes (especially Dirndl dresses) because they have so nice prints. Yesterday I was on a music event myself with my daughter, so I have nice memories when I watch your pictures 🙂

  6. sewbussted says:

    If all curtain fabric made such cute dresses, I might have to buy a new house to store an even bigger collection 😉
    You both look so cute. What fun!

  7. Oh this is awesome. It must have been so much fun to have your daughter join in.

  8. Chris says:

    What fun! Looks like you had a great time. And I have to say, I actually REALLY like Felicity’s dress. She could totally wear this again – who knows, if she grunged it down a bit it might look really cool. But then, you don’t have grunge-y weather, do you? I’m kinda thinking of laddered tights and black boots and leather jacket…

  9. Gail says:

    I’m giving my vote to Mum. Love the extended side drape and the longer hem line.

  10. Nonsuch says:

    you two are two of my favourite things….

  11. Pingback: Silk chiffon tablecloth dress: BurdaStyle 03/2015 #121 | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

