Sequins: Burdastyle short swing jacket 11/2013 #115

I’d overlooked this design when I’d received this issue, and hadn’t considered it since. Something about the scratched old photo look, beanie and graffiti just didn’t appeal.

But look at the line drawing.

Perfect for sequins….a minimum of seams for which sequin removal would be required, and a drape-y style that would allow lots of movement.

And then I saw what Tanja W. created from this design!

Image from Tanya’s ‘Karl meets Coco’ project page on Burdastyle.com 

No more hesitation! This was clearly an excellent pattern for what I had in mind for some sequined mesh in the stash.

I wanted a light topper for a sort of boring evening frock I’d worn to the same event the year before.

The event was a black tie affair in the Great Hall of our National Parliament, so I figured a bit of sequined bling would work.

Lets talk about the fabric.

My sequined fabric is not your traditional sequined number. It is made up of clear plastic sequins sewn onto mesh, and then the whole thing is printed in an abstract almost wood grain pattern.

As you can see here where I’m part way through removing sequins for the neck binding strip, the sequins weren’t all beautifully lined up before printing, so there’s a bit of extra randomness to the design.

The colours are muted greens and browns, but the shininess of the plastic catches the light, so there is an overall silver-y fish scale-y effect.

I removed sequins from every seam allowance and from the hem. It took a very. long. time. And I chose a design with very few seams and then omitted a few more (like the centre back pleat and seam).

I omitted the facings too. The back neck was faced with a strip of the mesh cut across the grain so it was stretchy (after removing all the scratchy sequins). The fronts were cut out with a straight çut-on facing using the selvedge. The selvedge had a wide non sequin part, so that worked well.

I am still finding sequins everywhere.

I don’t think I’ll be sewing with sequins again in a hurry!

But it is a fun jacket to have in my wardrobe. I might even wear it with non evening wear

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sequins: Burdastyle short swing jacket 11/2013 #115

  1. Clio says:

    Lovely! I remember thinking when this came out that the photo was awful but that someone (with more creativity than me) would make it into something amazing. And I was right!

  2. Very chic – you look stunning in it!

  3. sewruth says:

    That’s a brilliant idea to update an existing dress. With all that backroom work I think you should wear this to the office……

  4. Gail says:

    Love your version. It is interesting to see how the drapier sequinned fabric changes to bell sleeve to a more floaty look.

  5. AllisonC says:

    You always seem to pick really interesting Burda patterns that I often overlook. This is absolutely perfect in that amazing sequin fabric for a glamorous topper. I agree it will also be fabulous over a more casual outfit especially with the festive season on the horizon.

  6. Summerflies says:

    I love your idea of the sparkly jacket with jeans also… makes it a more useful item in the wardrobe.. .. as a glamorous wine scientist you may get to wear sparkly jackets everywhere though!

  7. Audrey says:

    Great topper. Really unique fabric, I have never seen sequined fabric with the print on top of the sequins. And it looks a bit like a cape, a style that is really popular right now

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

