Valedictory Dinner in a Halter Maxi Dress: BurdaStyle 06/2016 #106

Valedictory: bidding farewell, this weekend, to secondary schooling.

Just an exam or two (or in Felicity’s case, about 14!) and it’s all over. So lets go out in style.

Technical details:

Pattern: Burdastyle 06/2016 #106

Size: 34 – 42, I made a 40, sort off, with an FBA, slightly larger waist, a bit higher through the back, plus a swayback adjustment. In other words, I adjusted the pattern to fit….after several muslins.

Fabric:

The outer fabric is a digital printed polyester chiffon from my local fabric store: Ferrier Fabrics. It had a slight crepe-y feel and wasn’t totally terrible to sew with, like polyester chiffons are wont to be.

The inner bodice/underlining was constructed from a remnant of navy polyester taffeta, leftover from an evening dress I made and wore when I was pregnant with Felicity (lots of lovely memories sewn into this dress!). The skirt was lined to mid thigh with acetate lining in navy. I used a simple A-line skirt shape for the lining.

It’s a good design: boning in the bodice give the structure needed, and then the draped and twisted and crossed over, over bodice, adds the softness.

I did the cross over opposite to the design, because this worked better for Felicity.

It was a very lovely evening. Even bad iPhone photos taken in the semi dark can’t take away the smiles!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Valedictory Dinner in a Halter Maxi Dress: BurdaStyle 06/2016 #106

  1. Kim says:

    A beautiful dress, and all the more so for having memories sewn in 😃

  2. sewbussted says:

    What beautiful high school memories you have created for your lovely daughter 😊

  3. Tia Dia says:

    This is just beautiful!

  4. The creative pixie says:

    Beautiful dress

  5. Chris says:

    Amazing! A beautiful dress and such a special occasion!

  6. Andrea says:

    Felicity looks lovely! Graduation is such a lovely time. My son graduates from High School next Monday and they don’t have a dinner because there is 600 in his year group. The school does hire a sports arena for the occasion so all of the parents and families can attend. I can’t decide how I feel about him graduating. It has rather snuck up on me.

    • SewingElle says:

      600 in one year level! I can hardly imagine. Felicity’s school has had events all year, so we are well prepared for the End Of Schooling. There have been some teary moments…

  7. thornberry says:

    You have sewn her so many stunning dresses! As always, she looks divine. I can’t imagine my kids finishing school, but know that it will happen in a blink.

    • SewingElle says:

      This is my favourite of the fancy frocks I’ve sewn for her. I can hardly believe she is finishing school either. Kindergarten graduation doesn’t seem all that long ago!

  8. BMGM says:

    Wonderful dress and congrats on graduation.

  9. Lynsey Welch says:

    Your daughter looks stunning, such a gorgeous dress, it’s extra special wearing a dress that has been made with love.

  10. sewruth says:

    Fabulous dress – I adore a halter neck.
    Very lucky daughter, but then again, a very lucky mother!

  11. Nonsuch says:

    Felicity looks stunning in this. Gorgeous fabric and style.

  12. What a wonderful dress! The colour and the shape are gorgeous on her.

    Congrats to you both on making it through the schooling years! It’s a long time!

  13. Jennifer Shaw says:

    Such a marvelous dress!! You did a fantastic job with this beauty of a dress. Congrats to you both!!

  14. Absolutely stunning! I love that print, I often see (and if I am honest, often buy!) amazing prints in sheer fabrics, but I find them so difficult to work with they just sit in my stash looking pretty. This dress looks perfect, you clearly have great skills and patience!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

