Party at the back dress: BurdaStyle 08/2014 #116

Looks like a sweet little dress at the front

But it’s all party at the back with its lower back cut out, full skirt and mullet hem

Yes, I added pockets.

Because. Pockets are a Thing.

Technical details

Pattern: BurdaStyle 08/2014 #116

Size: I made a 42 with a 2.5 cm FBA. I didn’t sew up the vertical dart that this adjustment added, just gathered the bodice waist into the skirt. The waist is elasticized, so you’d never know. Except I just told you.

The fabric was Japanese cotton from my local Spotlight store. It was only 105 cm wide, so I added a centre back seam to the skirt. With the selvedge in the seams so I don’t forget.

The centre back seam meant I didn’t need to add an eyelet or button hole for the ties to come out, because I could just leave an opening in the seam.

Burda’s instructions for the elastic and ties were particularly bad. I ditched them and just did what Dawn of Two On, Two Off did.

Other changes: I didn’t line the bodice, but used self bias binding for the neck and armscyes instead.

It’s about 6 cm shorter than Burda drafted, and Felicity is above average height. We were going for more of a sundress vibe than a long and flowing tea dress.

And look! Sunbeams!

I love this dress! Think Felicity likes it too…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Party at the back dress: BurdaStyle 08/2014 #116

  1. Summerflies says:

    I’ve always loved this dress but felt too old for it, but it is perfect for Felicity. I love the fabric.

    • SewingElle says:

      I tried it on. I did feel a bit old for it. Not sure if it is just age or the grey sensible fabric that didn’t work on me in that style. Whatever, she looks great in it.

  2. Tia Dia says:

    I really liked the idea of this dress when it was published, and seeing made up like this gets me thinking it would be perfect for DD3 to sew up for herself this summer. Love it!

  3. Very sweet- I love the fabric!

  4. Kim says:

    I have dress envy. I loved this when it was published but like Summerflies I thought I was too old for it. Your fabric is mouthwateringly gorgeous!

  5. Nonsuch says:

    this is one of my favourite things. I love everything about it and am totally going to make one for myself – a long swanning about version and too bad if I am (which is not admitted!) too old for it…

  6. This is a gorgeous dress. Your fabric choice works beautifully too.

  7. sewbussted says:

    What an adorable dress!

  8. It is a cute pattern and your version looks great. I remember this pattern well, although I really thought it was from a more recent issue – time flies!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

