Linen wrap skirt: BurdaStyle 02/2015 #109

More sewing for Felicity

This skirt was made with the same fabulous embroidered linen I’d used earlier for a boxy top.

It’s a lovely wrap style with box pleats front and back and enormous pockets.

Pattern: BurdaStyle 02/2015 #109B

Size: 36-44, I made a 42. It’s a bit big on Felicity, but, being a wrap style, this just means the centre front pleat overlaps a bit at the waist

I ran out of fabric and had to piece the waistband with plain white linen: Felicity’s skirt has a seam at the top of the waistband with plain white linen as the backing, and all of the back pieces and ties completely in plain white. She wrapped the ties back to the front in these photos and then wore a boxy over blouse, so you can’t see them at all.

I top stitched the pleats and flat felled the side seams. And then covered the seams up with enormous wrap around pockets. You could fit a novel in these, with room to spare!

I like this skirt and this style a lot. Perhaps I might steal it from her wardrobe. Or make myself one of my own…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Linen wrap skirt: BurdaStyle 02/2015 #109

  1. Rebekah says:

    Love this colour on you felicity! Very cute style too!

  2. NancyD says:

    Very cute! Looks like a perfect summer road trip skirt. I love big pockets when I’m traveling. I might need one of thee myself. Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention!

  3. Philo says:

    What a nice skirt.And what a lovely fabric.

  4. A lovely skirt. I think you are quite entitled to steal it on occasion 😉

  5. Nonsuch says:

    this is a great pattern – love the skirt and particularly impressed by the flat felled seams – makes it look so RTW (in a good way!)

  6. sewruth says:

    What an unusual wrap skirt – you have a brilliant ability to ‘see’ a pattern and its potential.
    For sure you need one for you too.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

