Using the ‘right’ side of the fabric

Thank you for your kind comments on my last post about my reversible skirt. It is a bit ridiculous that making such a simple garment has been so pleasing, but it seems that lots of you are with me on this!

Now, I promised to show you the more mundane use of this fabric.

This simple dress is version #4 of Burdastyle 07/2011 #131.

It’s much roomier than the last version I made. I’m putting that down to the much looser weave of linen cut on the straight grain for #4 versus using tightly woven cotton cut on the cross grain for #3.

Linen and loose fitting – perfect for hot humid weather when I still need to look pulled together. It’s already been worn multiple times.

This time I cut the sleeves on (I butted the side bodice and cap sleeve pattern pieces together, ignoring the wrongly marked seam numbers)

The focus on pattern matching was balancing the vertical stripes down the centre back and front and matching horizontally though the side seams, – not the shoulders! As you can see.

Next up:

The last warm weather shirt dress for Felicity, in her choice of quilting cotton. Australiana rules!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Using the ‘right’ side of the fabric

  1. Nonsuch says:

    both are lovely but Felicity’s dress is reminiscent of something which might be worn by royalty on an Australian tour (in a good way) – “I did but see her passing by…” glorious!

  2. Lynsey Jane says:

    Super dress, it looks so smart in that fab fabric! Such a super floral fabric too, I’m sure she looks fab in it.

  3. AllisonC says:

    Great classic dress – I love the clever adjustment to the sleeve to make it cut on, bit less pattern matching to do!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

