Wattle shirt-dress: Burdastyle 06/2013 #103 pattern hack

Going to a fabric store with Felicity means discouraging the purchase of multiple lengths of novelty fabric. She still manages to get a least one every trip.

Last time it was quilting cotton with a wattle print.

While I moan and groan theatrically at the time, her fabric choices usually turn out okay.

This dress was based on a Burdastyle shirt dress 06/2013 #103 that I’ve used for Felicity before.

After making the normal full bust adjustment, I cut the bodice pattern pieces off at the waist.

The skirt back was a rectangle cut the width of the fabric (112cm).

I used the original pattern to curve up from the hip. I did the same for the two fronts, and cut the facing separate.

I added tucks by eye somewhat haphazardly, with about 2 to 3 cm in each tuck.

The tucks stopped about 10 cm from the side seams, so the dress was smooth under the pockets, and a few cm from the center front so the button band was flat.

The pockets are a great shape, which I highlighted with yellow silk bias trim.

And because I could, I finished the neckline with yellow bias too!

Cute buttons

Cute dress!

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Wattle shirt-dress: Burdastyle 06/2013 #103 pattern hack

  1. sewruth says:

    Felicity knows exactly what’s on trend – it’s all florals out there. Cute dress – agreed!

  2. That’s really lovely- the silk binding adds a touch of class.

  3. Summerflies says:

    It is indeed a cute dress. I love the sweet wattle print and the piping really lifts it. Great modification to an already adjusted pattern… no one wants to make more adjustments than they have to.

  4. Tia Dia says:

    It’s a beautiful print. I love this pattern, and the combo made a very nice dress!

  5. Liz Thompson says:

    Cute daughter too!!!
    I have your blog on my list and never fail to enjoy the read.
    If you ever visit Vancouver, Canada (maybe your work travels come this way?) DO look me up. My brother in law lives in Australia and we have visited a couple of times.
    I work in the sewing & quilting industry : National Education Supervisor for Janome & Elna + Conference Coordinator for Canada’s National Quilt show: Quilt Canada.

    Please don’t stop writing your lovely, informative blog!!

  6. Lynsey Jane says:

    Such a super dress!

  7. Love that print and it works so well for this adorable dress. Love that your daughter lets you sew for her.

  8. Jennifer Shaw says:

    I do love the dress!! Especially the print and the pretty buttons.

    • SewingElle says:

      Let me tell you about the buttons. I wanted to add a line of bright yellow or green buttons down the front. My local fabric store didn’t have anything suitable and my favourite button shop was closed ( it was Sunday afternoon). The dress needed to be worn asap. These clear flower buttons were a reluctant compromise. Turns out they were perfect. Specially with a yellow thread centre!

  9. Nonsuch says:

    you know how I love this dress. new to me are the shoes – very nice and perfect match for the style of dress.

  10. Paola says:

    Yes, very cute!

  11. Good fabric choice for the dress – it looks lovely!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

