Vegetable jacket: BurdaStyle 11/2014 #110

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you might have noticed I have a weakness for IKEA fabrics. Dresses instead of curtains. Skirts instead of upholstery. That sort of thing.

When faced with this

20170612_064011462_iOS

Instead of thinking cushions like most sensible peolpe do.

16x16 Ikea Farmers Market Fabric HEMTREVNAD Pillow Cover with Insert, Throw, Couch, Bed, Fun, Colorful, Veggie, Vegetable, Unique, Kitchen

image from Beego Homemade

Felicity and I thought jacket.

And she requested one as a birthday present.

Happy Birthday darling!

20170624_074938236_iOS

This is BurdaStyle 11/2014 #110

I’d made this pattern for myself, so I already have a 42 traced off, with a few tweaks. Felicity tried on my version and I worked out it could sort of fit her with a bit pinched out the back.. And it would cut up the pattern less if I eliminated the waist seams.

You know, this was novelty print. Proper pattern adjustments and seaming were not justified…Slapdash sewist? Guilty as charged.

Not totally slapdash, because I added a lovely aubergine coloured faux suede collar and lined it with lovely soft white fleece.

20170701_051000919_iOS

And I added patch pockets

20170701_051038454_iOS

Although,  I have to wonder what sort of monster have I created. She said ‘what sort of pattern placement is this mum?’

Its always good to have lots of leafy greens….

RTW, be very afraid.

 

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Vegetable jacket: BurdaStyle 11/2014 #110

  1. sewbussted says:

    You made me look! I love vegetable printed fabric. Sadly, IKEA here in the States only has it in black and white 😪 Oh well.
    As for the matching, I think she can do the matching in the future 😊

    • SewingElle says:

      So true. I’ve not had much luck luring her into any part of sewing so far except fabric shopping and Burda magazine browsing. Pattern placement might be the next step.

  2. sewruth says:

    I’ve just re-made my old deck chair seat with Ikea fabric and there’s enough leftover for a skirt!
    You are not the only one…

    • SewingElle says:

      It’s not upholstery fabric. It’s multi purpose fabric!
      I have enough left over to make a skirt too but I am restraining myself. Even I think a vegetable suit is a bridge too far.

  3. Janine. says:

    Great jacket , it doesn’t look slap dash at all and we all know people should have more veges. I didn’t know you could use ikea fabric for cushions but I think I will still use my ikea leaf fabric for a skirt 😀

  4. Lucky Felicity! It’s truly a one of a kind jacket and so much fun.

  5. I love this! Can’t get enough of vegetable prints myself… I did laugh out loud at ‘what sort of pattern placement is this mum?’

  6. Tia Dia says:

    Congratulations on passing on the art of proper fitting garments to your daughter! I am so horrified at how terribly garments fit people, even in movies!!

    And I totally love the veggies!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

