Bella Dress #2 and #3

I knew I couldn’t stop at just one. Such a satisfying pattern!

20170709_002746153_iOS

Bella Dress #2 is  for me. I added an infinity scarf made from the leftover metrage, inspired by Lara from Thornberry. It’s a good way to get rid of scraps!

#2 was made from a light weight ponte bought online some time ago from Gorgeous Fabrics. Construction wise, I treated this like a woven (straight stitch) apart from the sleeve and dress hems. They got the double needle treatment.

I finished the neck edge with purchased poly cotton bias tape and stabilized the shoulder seam with a satin ribbon

Without the scarf, the neckline is a gentle bateau shape.

20170709_002905860_iOS

The “wrong” side of the fabric is a lovely solid blue so this dress goes  from bracelet to elbow length in six seconds!

And then back to bracelet length for a photo with my “little” boy.

20170709_002929982_iOS

Taller than me! Even when I am in heels!

Keeping with the family theme, the next Bella was for Felicity.

20170701_065507247_iOS

We love those pockets!

20170701_065553757_iOS

Bella #3 was made from novelty sweat shirting from my local Spotlight store.

 

20170701_060558163_iOS

I finished the neck on this one with purchased bias tape too, but didn’t need to stabilize the shoulders – not much stretch in this fabric.

I used bias tape on the sleeve hems too. Because I could. And it’s pretty!

20170701_065817434_iOS

We could not resist the Dalek reference. Daleks come in a rainbow version don’t they? If not, they should.

20170701_065541812_iOS

Side view. Yes it really is a sack dress.

20170701_065615410_iOS

Back view

20170701_065653578_iOS

No complaints about pattern placement ( yet…)

And the obligatory twirl!

20170701_065747875_iOS

Am I done with this pattern yet? Well, no, I’d like to make a linen version and a drapey viscose version, and… but I have other sewing lined up.

Such as a Liberty strawberry thief shirt for me.

I started with the collar and I am very happy with how it’s looking.

20170708_054420859_iOS

I used Heather Lou’s (Closet case patterns) thread tail method for the collar points. It’s brilliant!  Also, taking care cutting out so I avoid comments about pattern placement from my hyper vigilant daughter might have helped…

 

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bella Dress #2 and #3

  1. sewbussted says:

    Absolutely love your dress. The fabric is amazing. But then, who could resist a polka dot puff ball dress? 😉

  2. Your dress is SO lovely on you, and your daughter’s dress is super fun!!

  3. This is a great dress pattern for both of you! I love your daughter’s dress! What fun!!!! And she seems to enjoy it immensely!

  4. Nonsuch says:

    love both Bellas – extra love the colour and pattern of yours + clever scarf addition.

  5. I love this dress on you – shapely enough to avoid being a plain sack, but elegant and swooshy. And of course I LOVE the bobble dress. How could I not?!

    That Liberty shirt is going to be a stunner. I love Strawberry Thief.

  6. It’s a great blank canvas pattern, that’s for sure. Glad I wasn’t the only one thinking ‘Dalek’! But a friendly Dalek.

  7. Summerflies says:

    Oh yes to grey with coloured pom poms! I must see if there is any of that left… Both dresses look terrific and so different with the very different fabrics. Says it all really.

  8. sewruth says:

    I simply love it that you are a season ahead (behind?) me – I’m getting all the ideas for my A/W ’17 sewing. Keep ’em coming and all looking as good as these dresses – so versatile, comfortable and stylish. Just perfect.

    • SewingElle says:

      I gave mine a test drive today. Had to go to Sydney for the day for work. It’s an excellent travel dress that looked as good at the end of the day as it did 15 hours before. Pity I can’t say the same about me!

  9. Looks great, I love how the scarf gives it quite a different look. That Liberty shirt collar looks so perfect!

  10. This blue fabric is fabulous! Love your dress! Your daughter’s dress is very cute!

  11. Kim says:

    Both dresses are lovely but I have to confess a particular liking for the colourful dalek!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

