Me-Made Mothers Day dresses

A lunch time photo of me made Mother’s Day in May with my dear friend M and our lovely daughters in their mum made dresses. This has become our new tradition.

This year is brought to you by patterns from BurdaStyle and Tessuti (Stella and Yuki, to be precise- see NonSuch Sewing for more info).

I look extra tall in these photos because I am wearing ridiculously high heels. And Felicity is not. That’s what’s I have to do now to not be shorter than my kids. Taking a bit of getting used too! (the being shorter bit, not the wearing of high heels)

My dress is BurdaStyle 08/2016 #131 in a straight size 44 made in wool crepe gifted to me from Rhonda Buss several years ago. Thank you Rhonda. It is glorious fabric!

You’ll note that I reversed the tucks and tie on the front. Not intentionally, just the way I cut it out. Other changes were to line the dress, and to add a keyhole button opening at the back neck because my local Spotlight store didn’t have a long enough zip in the right colour.

Felicity’s dress is BurdaStyle 10/2016 #104 made in a stretch polyester velvet. I drafted a 38 with a FBA. Her measurements put her more into a size 40, but I wanted some negative ease for this fabric. There’s enough stretch in this fabric to not need a zip, so no zip was used. I also swapped the neck facing out for satin bias binding.

The fit turned out very well and Felicity is very pleased with her dress. She looks fabulous in it too!

This dress has lots of lovely design features. Photographing black velvet in bright midday sun does not do it justice!

I think I need to make another version for me in another fabric just to show you how lovely it is…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Me-Made Mothers Day dresses

  1. Whit-woo! Classy ladies or what!

  2. Tia Dia says:

    Oh, your dress is lovely! What a fun tradition to have for Mother’s Day!

  3. Kbenco says:

    An excellent tradition. You all look lovely.

  4. Nonsuch says:

    both dresses are sensational and even better IRL.

  5. julie says:

    HI Elle you girls all look so chic…and I love it that you have made it a tradition now. Elle your dress is gorgerous and Felicity looks gorgeous too and I just love her choice of hosiery, matches perfectly with the dress. Loved your comment about the high heels too. Please keep the emails coming they are so inspirational. Xx

  6. Dresses where the pockets are part of the design are the best! Your tie-dress is fantastic and elegant – perfect for the occasion.

    • SewingElle says:

      The pocket design is ingenious the way it wraps around origami like to be both the outside and inside of the pocket and a sort of peplum as well. And in a fabric with nap, like the velvet I used, the design is accentuated.
      I like my dress too Quite a lot!

  7. Liz Haywood says:

    You did a good job of photographing a black dress! All the outfits look lovely – thanks for sharing them with us.

  8. You all look lovely. Your daughters dress looks lovely in velvet. I’ve made that pattern and love the pockets, they’re a really useful feature:)

  9. You are a glamorous bunch of ladies!

  10. yummy mummy says:

    what a great tradition, both of you lovely in your dresses!

  11. sewbussted says:

    I had completely forgotten that I sent some of the crepe to you! Your dress is fabulous!!! So glad you were able to find a use for the fabric πŸ™‚

    • SewingElle says:

      I’m so delighted to have had the fabric to use. I had great plans for it when you first sent it but as usual my sewing list was grater than the available time that year, and the next.

  12. sewruth says:

    I’m just thinking… Me Made Mothers…..looks like you (older) girls really made these ones just right!
    Love all the dresses and the tradition you have created.

  13. AllisonC says:

    I love love love both dresses that you made, gorgeous!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

