Closet Core Pattern classics on holiday: Kalle shirt and Sienna jacket

Yes. Still blogging about holiday sewing!

These two pieces were made from favourite patterns: Closet Core’s Kalle and Sienna.

Let’s start with the Kalle shirt.

Breakfast decisions made easier by wearing an orange Kalle shirt

This is a size 18 with long sleeves from the expansion pack and the body lengthened by 8 cm from the View A cropped length.

Gelato and sunshine – what more could you want?

This bright orange pheasant print fabric from EOS is so much fun. It’s an Italian stretch cotton shirting apparently also used by an outdoor outfitter in the USA. I might be biased but I think my shirt is more interesting than theirs!

My turquoise label coordinating nicely with the other fabrics

That’s partly because of the pattern but also because I couldn’t help myself and added teal fabric from my stash as a contrast to the collar stand and cuffs. I didn’t have enough so I had to piece the collar stand. Worth it though, it’s almost the perfect match to the teal feathers on the pheasants

Brightly dressed on Burano

The Sienna jacket is another favourite pattern of mine and I used it this time for a linen jacket.

I had some fun with the details. The heavy yellow lace is on the inner breast pocket – a secret detail. This lace was purchased from Portobello Markets when Felicity and I were there seven years ago, so it’s a secret and special detail!

I also added yellow linen binding from The Fabric Store to finish the facing. What can I say – I like yellow!

I didn’t use yellow for topstitching though. A more mustardy gold thread looked better so that’s what I used.

Lots of fun details! Including a “worth the effort” KATM label on the breast pocket

The pattern isn’t for a lined jacket but I lined the sleeves with an ivory silk habotai purchased from DK fabrics in Adelaide for another project that didn’t get past the planning stage. This made the jacket delightful to wear and so lovely to pull on over other sleeves.

This is a size 12 with 1 cm extra width added to the front and back – a cheats grading up to a size 14 – and a longer tie belt than drafted, because my waist isn’t exactly that of a size 12 anymore. So why did I make a size 12 with changes rather than a size that actually was close to my measurements? Well, I had an actual paper pattern and I’d already cut out a size 12 for a previous project. I should’ve traced it shouldn’t I?

Interesting that I made the jacket as an almost size 14 yet the shirt as a size 18. Same pattern company. Hmm might need to think more about that. Perhaps I like my shirts looser than my jackets? Or it could be the sleeve length of the Kalle? Last time I made a 14 and the sleeves were too short even when I added some length by not using the full seam allowance. Like a cheats 16. Perhaps the next Kalle should be an actual size 16!

The jacket fabric is a heavy weight linen from The Fabric Store. I’d originally bought it to make trousers to wear in Bali – it was always destined to be part of a holiday wardrobe.

The weight is perfect for a spring jacket. I’m really pleased with how this turned out

On a misty morning in Venice

In Florence

Both of them, and both of us, in Rome

I hope you’re not sick of the travel wardrobe posts – I still have a few more to share 🙂

17 thoughts on “Closet Core Pattern classics on holiday: Kalle shirt and Sienna jacket

  1. Both Kalle & Siena patterns are nice, aren’t they? (I like the versatility; that being said, I’ve had a soft denim Siena cut out for 2 years & haven’t sewn it yet :/ ) The lined sleeves & trim detail are excellent ideas—-thx for the inspiration!

  2. Bring on more holiday sewing. LOVE it! Both are lovely. Interesting that the shirt is listed at $352!! I bet you did not pay that for the fabric +pattern and the time is all sewing pleasure so does not count in my sewing room!

  3. Never bored with your shares no matter where or what you are sharing with us all! Love your attention to detail.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.