Sizzling hot for Valentine’s Day

That would be the weather I’m talking about. Valentine’s Day is forecast to be least 31°C after another very hot week in the 30s and 40s.

This double knit top is just not going to make it out of the wardrobe.

Technical details

Pattern: Burdastyle 02-2009-108. An oldie but a goodie. Not in Pattern Reviews Best Patterns for 2009 for nothing! This one is version number 5 or 6; I’ve made a few since 2009!

The only thing I would change if I make it again would be to remove some of the height in the sleeve head. It’s a bit much.

Size: 36 – 44, I made a 42

Fabric: Rayon double knit from Gorgeous fabrics for the body and cotton stretch lace from Tessuti’s for the sleeves.

I cut the sleeves out with the selvedge as the cuff. No issue with that: the stretch is lengthwise and the selvedge is an okay edge. But, to keep the maximum options for the piece I had left of this fabric, I cut the sleeves out on opposite selvedges, not side by side. I remembered to flip the pattern, but didn’t think about the lace pattern. It’s one way, of course. I don’t think its obvious enough to be noticeable, but it’s a mistake, nevertheless.

The white skirt is a me-made too, modified from BurdaStyle 04-2010-125

This top will work with more wintery skirts too.

I should have added tights to this outfit but it was seriously hot for these photos ( see that long suffering face?). It was still over 35°C even after 7 PM in the evening; this summer has been HOT.

Suffering for fashion and my blog? Yes, but only so much!

The grey skirt is the same base pattern as the white one, but in a ponti knit, so no zip and elastic added to the waist. Easy sewing.

I used lightweight knit fusible tape for the hems of the top and skirt. I got mine from Sunni’s online shop but steam-a seam is similar. I love this stuff! I ‘baste’ it on when I overlock the bottom edge of the fabric, then fuse it when I press the hem allowance up. It  helps reduce bubbling with double needle hemming for almost all weights of knits I’ve been sewing recently.

Verdict: I like this top. The bateau neck is flattering and the lace sleeves add some interest.

But what about Valentines Day?

Let’s hope this dress, made in a red silk cotton metallic blend, gets out of the sewing room and into my wardrobe in time…

12 thoughts on “Sizzling hot for Valentine’s Day

  1. Love the top! I have seen a couple of nice tops or dresses with lace sleeves but i haven’t ever tried one. I thinks it is time i did. And i really look forward to seeing your dress. I love the sleeves on this one but i am always afraid of dresses that don’t mark the waist. I’d love to see how you make yours work.

  2. I’ve been eyeing that dress pattern. I can hardly wait to see how it makes up for you! I’ve even thought about making the top version but adding a front zip to use it like a light jacket.

  3. I really like mixing fabrics in knit tops – this looks great. And the sleeves on that dress are fabulous – definitely a sweetheart dress! Fingers crossed for Valentines Day!

  4. Just returned from a brief business trip to Adelaide. I was tempted to look you up! You are so right about the heat. It was really hot!! Speaking of hot, your top and skirt look sensational.

  5. Oh, you poor South Australians – you are having a shocking summer. Hope you get some respite soon.
    That Burda pattern is a great one, love this red version.

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.