Sizzling hot for Valentine’s Day

That would be the weather I’m talking about. Valentine’s Day is forecast to be least 31°C after another very hot week in the 30s and 40s.

This double knit top is just not going to make it out of the wardrobe.

Technical details

Pattern: Burdastyle 02-2009-108. An oldie but a goodie. Not in Pattern Reviews Best Patterns for 2009 for nothing! This one is version number 5 or 6; I’ve made a few since 2009!

The only thing I would change if I make it again would be to remove some of the height in the sleeve head. It’s a bit much.

Size: 36 – 44, I made a 42

Fabric: Rayon double knit from Gorgeous fabrics for the body and cotton stretch lace from Tessuti’s for the sleeves.

I cut the sleeves out with the selvedge as the cuff. No issue with that: the stretch is lengthwise and the selvedge is an okay edge. But, to keep the maximum options for the piece I had left of this fabric, I cut the sleeves out on opposite selvedges, not side by side. I remembered to flip the pattern, but didn’t think about the lace pattern. It’s one way, of course. I don’t think its obvious enough to be noticeable, but it’s a mistake, nevertheless.

The white skirt is a me-made too, modified from BurdaStyle 04-2010-125

This top will work with more wintery skirts too.

I should have added tights to this outfit but it was seriously hot for these photos ( see that long suffering face?). It was still over 35°C even after 7 PM in the evening; this summer has been HOT.

Suffering for fashion and my blog? Yes, but only so much!

The grey skirt is the same base pattern as the white one, but in a ponti knit, so no zip and elastic added to the waist. Easy sewing.

I used lightweight knit fusible tape for the hems of the top and skirt. I got mine from Sunni’s online shop but steam-a seam is similar. I love this stuff! I ‘baste’ it on when I overlock the bottom edge of the fabric, then fuse it when I press the hem allowance up. It  helps reduce bubbling with double needle hemming for almost all weights of knits I’ve been sewing recently.

Verdict: I like this top. The bateau neck is flattering and the lace sleeves add some interest.

But what about Valentines Day?

Let’s hope this dress, made in a red silk cotton metallic blend, gets out of the sewing room and into my wardrobe in time…

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sizzling hot for Valentine’s Day

  1. Sewbussted says:

    No tights needed. You look like a summer vision 🙂 My heard that you are having a terribly hit summer. Stay cool!

  2. amalitar says:

    Love the top! I have seen a couple of nice tops or dresses with lace sleeves but i haven’t ever tried one. I thinks it is time i did. And i really look forward to seeing your dress. I love the sleeves on this one but i am always afraid of dresses that don’t mark the waist. I’d love to see how you make yours work.

  3. Tia Dia says:

    I’ve not paid any attention to that top – I’ll have to have a look at it! Love your choice for that beautiful red dress!

  4. Nancy D says:

    I’ve been eyeing that dress pattern. I can hardly wait to see how it makes up for you! I’ve even thought about making the top version but adding a front zip to use it like a light jacket.

  5. CherryPix says:

    I really like mixing fabrics in knit tops – this looks great. And the sleeves on that dress are fabulous – definitely a sweetheart dress! Fingers crossed for Valentines Day!

  6. Gail says:

    Just returned from a brief business trip to Adelaide. I was tempted to look you up! You are so right about the heat. It was really hot!! Speaking of hot, your top and skirt look sensational.

  7. What a pretty top. I love the photos! Would never have noticed the lace direction on the sleeves.

  8. Paola says:

    Oh, you poor South Australians – you are having a shocking summer. Hope you get some respite soon.
    That Burda pattern is a great one, love this red version.

  9. Pingback: Not a formal scuba dress for me: Burda 6858 | He Cooks… She Sews!

Please leave a comment. We love to hear from you! And don't feel you have to be gentle on this site; constructive criticism is most welcome.

